Fri Mar 09
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Spring Tennis Fest (Mar. 9-17)
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Fri Mar 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sun Mar 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Mar 31
10:00 AM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 07
10:00 AM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 08
10:00 AM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Fri Apr 13
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Tiffin
Sat Apr 14
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Fri Apr 20
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sat Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sun Apr 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Tennis Huskies Advance to GLIAC Fifth-Place Match

Tennis Huskies Advance to GLIAC Fifth-Place Match

MIDLAND, Mich. — The Michigan Tech men's tennis team bounced back in its second match at the GLIAC Tournament at Midland Community Tennis Center. The Huskies defeated Tiffin 5-1 today to advance to tomorrow's fifth-place match.

Just one week after falling to the Dragons in a regular season match at Tiffin, Michigan Tech reversed its fortune. The Black and Gold swept doubles play and won two of the first three singles matches to finish.

The big change from a week ago was doubles. Tiffin had won all three flights on April 13 in a 6-3 victory. Despite all three matchups being the same, the Huskies won all three points today.

Felipe Dos Santos and Pedro Rodriguez were 8-4 winners at No. 1 doubles. Duos Javier Oliveros/Built Yumuang and Jimmy Konarske/Andrew Kremkow both claimed 8-6 victories at Nos. 2 and 3, respectively.

Dos Santos continued his undefeated weekend with a 6-3, 6-0 triumph at No. 1 singles. After Tiffin picked up its first team point with a win at No. 4 singles, Konarske polished off the Huskies' win with a 6-4, 6-0 decision at No. 6.

"Doubles was the difference today," said head coach Kevin Kalinec. "Tiffin battled back at both No. 2 and 3 doubles, but we were able to put away both and carry that momentum into singles."

Michigan Tech, which now owns a 16-9 record, will face either Findlay or Grand Valley State in tomorrow's fifth-place match.