Fri Mar 09
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Spring Tennis Fest (Mar. 9-17)
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Sat Mar 10
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Belmont Abbey
Fri Mar 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Mar 24
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sun Mar 25
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Mar 31
10:00 AM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 07
10:00 AM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 08
10:00 AM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Fri Apr 13
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Tiffin
Sat Apr 14
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Fri Apr 20
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sat Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sun Apr 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Wayne Tops Tech 5-2 in GLIAC Tournament Opener

Wayne Tops Tech 5-2 in GLIAC Tournament Opener

MIDLAND, Mich. — Wayne State defeated Michigan Tech 5-2 in the opening round of the GLIAC Men's Tennis Tournament at Midland Community Tennis Center Friday (April 19). The Huskies will now face Tiffin in the consolation bracket.

Tech defeated the Warriors in Houghton by a 5-4 on March 30. The Huskies won all three doubles points in that match. They managed just one of the three yesterday.

The No. 1 pairing of Felipe Dos Santos and Pedro Rodriguez earned an 8-6 victory for Tech. Wayne State won both Nos. 2 and 3 doubles by scores of 9-7 and 8-3, respectively.

Michigan Tech remained in the hunt for a team win in singles as Dos Santos earned a 6-4, 6-0 victory at No. 1. The Warriors claimed straight set wins at Nos. 2 and 5 to take a 4-2 lead. The decisive point came at No. 3 singles, where Built Yumuang fought to a third set before falling 6-2, 3-6, 6-1.

Matches at Nos. 4 and 6 singles were left unfinished.

Michigan Tech, which is now 15-9 overall, moves to the consolation half of the bracket where it will face Tiffin. That match is set for today (April 20) at 3:45 p.m.