No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 16
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 17
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Sep 18
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sat Mar 18
10:00 AM
Walsh
Michigan Tech
Sun Mar 19
10:00 AM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 24
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Findlay
Sat Mar 25
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Hillsdale
Sat Apr 01
10:00 AM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 02
10:00 AM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 08
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Fri Apr 14
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Apr 15
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Fri Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
Sat Apr 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
Sun Apr 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Wayne Tops Tech 5-2 in GLIAC Tournament Opener

Wayne Tops Tech 5-2 in GLIAC Tournament Opener

MIDLAND, Mich. — Wayne State defeated Michigan Tech 5-2 in the opening round of the GLIAC Men's Tennis Tournament at Midland Community Tennis Center Friday (April 19). The Huskies will now face Tiffin in the consolation bracket.

Tech defeated the Warriors in Houghton by a 5-4 on March 30. The Huskies won all three doubles points in that match. They managed just one of the three yesterday.

The No. 1 pairing of Felipe Dos Santos and Pedro Rodriguez earned an 8-6 victory for Tech. Wayne State won both Nos. 2 and 3 doubles by scores of 9-7 and 8-3, respectively.

Michigan Tech remained in the hunt for a team win in singles as Dos Santos earned a 6-4, 6-0 victory at No. 1. The Warriors claimed straight set wins at Nos. 2 and 5 to take a 4-2 lead. The decisive point came at No. 3 singles, where Built Yumuang fought to a third set before falling 6-2, 3-6, 6-1.

Matches at Nos. 4 and 6 singles were left unfinished.

Michigan Tech, which is now 15-9 overall, moves to the consolation half of the bracket where it will face Tiffin. That match is set for today (April 20) at 3:45 p.m.