Fri Mar 09
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Spring Tennis Fest (Mar. 9-17)
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Fri Mar 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sun Mar 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Mar 31
10:00 AM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 07
10:00 AM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 08
10:00 AM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Fri Apr 13
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Tiffin
Sat Apr 14
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Fri Apr 20
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sat Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sun Apr 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Tennis Opens GLIAC Slate 3-0

Tennis Opens GLIAC Slate 3-0

CANTON, Ohio — The Michigan Tech men's tennis opened its Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference schedule with three wins in Ohio over the weekend. The Huskies defeated Lake Erie 9-0 on Friday (Feb. 21), Malone 8-1 on Saturday (Feb. 22) and Walsh 6-3 on Sunday (Feb. 23).

Tech won all nine matches in straight sets vs. Lake Erie. The Huskies' Nos. 1 and 3 doubles teams did not surrender a game in their matches. Built Yumuang, Nick Kremkow and Jimmy Konarske all won 6-0, 6-0 at Nos. 4, 5 and 6, respectively.

Saturday, Michigan Tech gained the 8-1 victory at Malone with a sweep of doubles and wins at five of six singles flights. The only match that didn't go the Huskies way was a three-set affair at No. 1 singles. Felipe Dos Santos suffered his first loss of the year in a super tiebreaker 10-7 after splitting the first two sets 4-6, 6-4.

The Black and Gold completed the weekend sweep with a 6-3 triumph at Walsh. Tech led 2-1 after doubles. Built Yumuang and Nick Kremkow earned a tight 9-7 victory at No. 3. The Huskies went on to win the top four singles flights. Dos Santos was a 6-4, 6-2 winner at No. 1. Javier Oliveros, Pedro Rodriguez and Yumuang all improved to 5-0 on the year with wins at Nos. 2, 3 and 4, respectively. Oliveros' came with a 10-4 super tiebreaker win.

The Huskies are now 5-0 overall and 3-0 in league play.

Michigan Tech will have next weekend off before traveling to Hilton Head, S.C., for five matches during spring break.