Sat Mar 10
Final
1 Michigan Tech
8 vs. Belmont Abbey
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Tue Mar 13
Final
5 West Liberty
4 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Wed Mar 14
Final
7 Kutztown
2 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Thu Mar 15
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 vs. Charleston (W.V.)
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Fri Mar 23
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Grand Valley State
Sat Mar 24
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Ferris State
Sun Mar 25
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Northwood
Sat Mar 31
Final
7 Lake Superior State
2 Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 07
Final
5 Purdue Northwest
4 Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 08
Final
9 Davenport
0 Michigan Tech
Fri Apr 13
Final
1 Michigan Tech
8 at Tiffin
Sat Apr 14
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Wayne State
Fri Feb 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Tiffin
@ Lexington, Ohio Lakewood Racquet Club
Sat Feb 23
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Hillsdale
Fri Mar 08
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C. (March 8-16)
Fri Mar 22
TBA
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Mar 23
TBA
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sun Mar 24
TBA
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Mar 30
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Apr 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sun Apr 07
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Fri Apr 12
TBA
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 13
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Fri Apr 19
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
Sat Apr 20
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
Sun Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Tennis Opens GLIAC Slate 3-0

Tennis Opens GLIAC Slate 3-0

CANTON, Ohio — The Michigan Tech men's tennis opened its Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference schedule with three wins in Ohio over the weekend. The Huskies defeated Lake Erie 9-0 on Friday (Feb. 21), Malone 8-1 on Saturday (Feb. 22) and Walsh 6-3 on Sunday (Feb. 23).

Tech won all nine matches in straight sets vs. Lake Erie. The Huskies' Nos. 1 and 3 doubles teams did not surrender a game in their matches. Built Yumuang, Nick Kremkow and Jimmy Konarske all won 6-0, 6-0 at Nos. 4, 5 and 6, respectively.

Saturday, Michigan Tech gained the 8-1 victory at Malone with a sweep of doubles and wins at five of six singles flights. The only match that didn't go the Huskies way was a three-set affair at No. 1 singles. Felipe Dos Santos suffered his first loss of the year in a super tiebreaker 10-7 after splitting the first two sets 4-6, 6-4.

The Black and Gold completed the weekend sweep with a 6-3 triumph at Walsh. Tech led 2-1 after doubles. Built Yumuang and Nick Kremkow earned a tight 9-7 victory at No. 3. The Huskies went on to win the top four singles flights. Dos Santos was a 6-4, 6-2 winner at No. 1. Javier Oliveros, Pedro Rodriguez and Yumuang all improved to 5-0 on the year with wins at Nos. 2, 3 and 4, respectively. Oliveros' came with a 10-4 super tiebreaker win.

The Huskies are now 5-0 overall and 3-0 in league play.

Michigan Tech will have next weekend off before traveling to Hilton Head, S.C., for five matches during spring break.