Sat Mar 10
Final
1 Michigan Tech
8 vs. Belmont Abbey
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Tue Mar 13
Final
5 West Liberty
4 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Wed Mar 14
Final
7 Kutztown
2 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Thu Mar 15
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 vs. Charleston (W.V.)
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Fri Mar 23
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Grand Valley State
Sat Mar 24
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Ferris State
Sun Mar 25
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Northwood
Sat Mar 31
Final
7 Lake Superior State
2 Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 07
Final
5 Purdue Northwest
4 Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 08
Final
9 Davenport
0 Michigan Tech
Fri Apr 13
Final
1 Michigan Tech
8 at Tiffin
Sat Apr 14
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Wayne State
Fri Feb 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Tiffin
@ Lexington, Ohio Lakewood Racquet Club
Sat Feb 23
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Hillsdale
Sun Mar 03
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Mar 08
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C. (March 8-16)
Fri Mar 22
TBA
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Mar 23
10:00 AM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sun Mar 24
TBA
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Mar 30
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Apr 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Apr 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Fri Apr 12
TBA
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 13
TBA
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Fri Apr 19
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
Sat Apr 20
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
Sun Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Tennis Edged 5-4 in GLIAC Fifth-Place Match

Tennis Edged 5-4 in GLIAC Fifth-Place Match

MIDLAND, Mich. — Michigan Tech's 2014 men's tennis season came to an end today with a 5-4 loss to Grand Valley State in the fifth-place match at the GLIAC Tournament. The Huskies, who entered as the eighth seed, finished sixth in the tournament and 10-11 overall on the season.

Like so many this season, today's tilt wasn't decided until the final match had finished.

Tech's top two doubles teams completed a 3-0 weekend. Felipe Dos Santos and Pedro Rodriguez earned an 8-3 victory at No. 1 doubles. Javier Oliveros and Jimmy Konarske added a 9-7 win at No. 2.

The Huskies led 2-1 after doubles.

Grand Valley State earned straight set wins at Nos. 1, 2 and 5 while Konarske claimed a 6-4, 6-4 triumph at No. 6, leaving the team score favoring the Lakers 4-3.

Built Yumuang claimed a 6-1, 3-6, 6-1 victory at No. 4 to tie the team score at 4-all. The final match on the courts was at No. 3 singles. Billy Heckman outlasted Rodriguez 6-3, 4-6, 7-6 (2) to decide the team match.

"It was a heck of a match today," said coach Tech Kevin Kalinec. "Every point was a battle. The guys really played good tennis all weekend, and I'm proud of how we finished the season."