Fri Mar 09
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Spring Tennis Fest (Mar. 9-17)
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Fri Mar 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sun Mar 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Mar 31
10:00 AM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 07
10:00 AM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 08
10:00 AM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Fri Apr 13
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Tiffin
Sat Apr 14
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Fri Apr 20
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sat Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sun Apr 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Tennis Edged 5-4 in GLIAC Fifth-Place Match

Tennis Edged 5-4 in GLIAC Fifth-Place Match

MIDLAND, Mich. — Michigan Tech's 2014 men's tennis season came to an end today with a 5-4 loss to Grand Valley State in the fifth-place match at the GLIAC Tournament. The Huskies, who entered as the eighth seed, finished sixth in the tournament and 10-11 overall on the season.

Like so many this season, today's tilt wasn't decided until the final match had finished.

Tech's top two doubles teams completed a 3-0 weekend. Felipe Dos Santos and Pedro Rodriguez earned an 8-3 victory at No. 1 doubles. Javier Oliveros and Jimmy Konarske added a 9-7 win at No. 2.

The Huskies led 2-1 after doubles.

Grand Valley State earned straight set wins at Nos. 1, 2 and 5 while Konarske claimed a 6-4, 6-4 triumph at No. 6, leaving the team score favoring the Lakers 4-3.

Built Yumuang claimed a 6-1, 3-6, 6-1 victory at No. 4 to tie the team score at 4-all. The final match on the courts was at No. 3 singles. Billy Heckman outlasted Rodriguez 6-3, 4-6, 7-6 (2) to decide the team match.

"It was a heck of a match today," said coach Tech Kevin Kalinec. "Every point was a battle. The guys really played good tennis all weekend, and I'm proud of how we finished the season."