Fri Sep 16
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 17
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Sep 18
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sat Mar 04
Final
1 Salem International University
8 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Mon Mar 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 vs. Davis & Elkins
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Tue Mar 07
Final
9 Catawba
0 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Thu Mar 09
Final
9 Chowan
0 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Sat Mar 18
Final
8 Walsh
1 Michigan Tech
Sun Mar 19
Final
9 Tiffin
0 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 24
Final
1 Michigan Tech
8 at Findlay
Sat Mar 25
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Hillsdale
Sat Apr 01
10:00 AM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 02
10:00 AM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 08
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Fri Apr 14
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Apr 15
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Fri Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
Sat Apr 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
Sun Apr 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Come Up Short against Catawba College

Huskies Come Up Short against Catawba College

HILTON HEAD, S.C. – The Michigan Tech men's tennis team lost a non-conference match on day three of the spring break trip 9-0 against Catawba College in Hilton Head, S.C. on Tuesday. The Huskies first serve of the 2017 season took place on Saturday against Salem International.

Mario Neto had one of Michigan Tech's (1-2) best performances of the day in No. 1 singles and doubles competition. Neto nearly slipped past Michael Patch by rallying from a 6-1 loss in game one for a 6-0 victory in the second set. Unfortunately, Patch claimed a 10-3 victory in set three to take the point for Catawba. In doubles competition, Neto teamed up with Juan Felipe Chica to challenge Patch and Luca Picci. The Tech duo fell just short 8-5 as Patch and Picci were able to secure the point for Catawba.

The full results from Tuesday's match are below.

Catawba College 9, Michigan Tech 0
Mar 07, 2017 at Hilton Head, S.C.

Singles

1. Michael Patch (CATM) def. Mario Neto (MTM) 6-1, 0-6, 10-3

2. Luca Picci (CATM) def. Juan Felipe Chica (MTM) 6-0, 6-0

3. Lucas Miller (CATM) def. Ricardo Paes (MTM) 6-4, 1-0, retired

4. Ryen Reid (CATM) def. Illiya Chibirev (MTM) 6-3, 6-0

5. Cason Hiers (CATM) def. Tayler Bethke (MTM) 8-0

6. Adam Rocko (CATM) def. Jacob Prochnow (MTM) 8-1

Doubles

1. Michael Patch/Luca Picci (CATM) def. Mario Neto/Juan Felipe Chica (MTM) 8-5

2. Ryen Reid/Cason Hiers (CATM) def. Ricardo Paes/Jacob Prochnow (MTM) 8-0

3. Iago Nunez/Brad Smethurst (CATM) def. Illiya Chibirev/Tayler Bethke (MTM) 8-5