Sat Mar 10
Final
1 Michigan Tech
8 vs. Belmont Abbey
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Tue Mar 13
Final
5 West Liberty
4 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Wed Mar 14
Final
7 Kutztown
2 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Thu Mar 15
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 vs. Charleston (W.V.)
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Fri Mar 23
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Grand Valley State
Sat Mar 24
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Ferris State
Sun Mar 25
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Northwood
Sat Mar 31
Final
7 Lake Superior State
2 Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 07
Final
5 Purdue Northwest
4 Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 08
Final
9 Davenport
0 Michigan Tech
Fri Apr 13
Final
1 Michigan Tech
8 at Tiffin
Sat Apr 14
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Wayne State
Fri Feb 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Tiffin
@ Lexington, Ohio Lakewood Racquet Club
Sat Feb 23
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Hillsdale
Sun Mar 03
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Mar 08
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C. (March 8-16)
Fri Mar 22
TBA
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Mar 23
10:00 AM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sun Mar 24
TBA
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Mar 30
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Apr 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Apr 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Fri Apr 12
TBA
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 13
TBA
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Fri Apr 19
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
Sat Apr 20
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
Sun Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Suffer Setback to Grand Valley State

Huskies Suffer Setback to Grand Valley State

HOUHGTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's tennis team suffered a 9-0 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference loss on Saturday to Grand Valley State University at the Gates Tennis Center. The Huskies were unable to slow down the Lakers who swept all the points in Saturday's match.

Illiya Chibirev and Tayler Bethke turned in the top performance in doubles for Michigan Tech (1-8, 0-5 GLIAC) by keeping pace with Nicholas Urban and Jack Geissler of Grand Valley State (13-6, 3-1 GLIAC) for most of the contest. However, Urban/Geissler were able to hold on for an 8-4 victory in the No.3 doubles spot in Saturday's lineup.

In singles competition, the Huskies were led by Ricardo Paes in the No .3 slot in the lineup. Paes battled Geissler through two sets before falling 6-4, 6-3. Illiya Chibirev and Mario Neto kept things close in the second sets of their singles contests, but each player fell 6-1, 6-3 to the Lakers.

Michigan Tech will wrap up the home portion of the 2017 schedule Sunday morning against Ferris State at the Gates Tennis Center beginning at 10 a.m.

The complete results are listed below.

Grand Valley State 9, Michigan Tech 0
Apr 01, 2017 at Houghton, Mich. (Gates Tennis Center)

Singles

1. Sebastien Lescoulie (GV-M) def. Mario Neto (MTM) 6-1, 6-3

2. Zach Phillps (GV-M) def. Juan Felipe Chica (MTM) 6-1, 6-2

3. Jack Geissler (GV-M) def. Ricardo Paes (MTM) 6-4, 6-3

4. Alex vande Steenoven (GV-M) def. Illiya Chibirev (MTM) 6-1, 6-3

5. Jack Heiniger (GV-M) def. Tayler Bethke (MTM) 6-0, 6-1

6. Nicholas Urban (GV-M) def. Jacob Prochnow (MTM) 6-0, 6-1

Doubles

1. Alex vande Steenoven/Zach Phillps (GV-M) def. Mario Neto/Juan Felipe Chica (MTM) 8-3

2. Jack Heiniger/Sebastien Lescoulie (GV-M) def. Ricardo Paes/Jacob Prochnow (MTM) 8-2

3. Nicholas Urban/Jack Geissler (GV-M) def. Illiya Chibirev/Tayler Bethke (MTM) 8-4

Match Notes

Grand Valley State 13-6, 3-1 GLIAC
Michigan Tech 1-8, 0-5 GLIAC