No Event
Sun Dec 10
UP Opener - MTU, Houghton - MTU Trails
Sat Dec 16
MTU CCSA Race & Junior Cup - MTU, Houghton - MTU Trails
Sun Dec 17
MTU CCSA Race & Junior Cup - MTU, Houghton - MTU Trails
Wed Jan 03
at US National Championship - Anchorage, Kincaid
10/15K Freestyle
Fri Jan 05
at US National Championship - Anchorage, Kincaid
Sprint Freestyle
Sun Jan 07
at US National Championship - Anchorage, Kincaid
20/30K MST Classic
Sat Jan 20
at Birkie Start CCSA & Junior Cup Race - CXC Cable - Birkie Start
5/10K INT Classic
Sun Jan 21
at Birkie Start CCSA & Junior Cup Race - CXC Cable - Birkie Start
15/20K MST Freestyle
Sat Jan 27
at St. Scholastica CCSA Race - CSS, Duluth - Spirit Mtn
15/20K INT Classic
Sun Jan 28
at St. Scholastica CCSA Race - CSS, Duluth - Spirit Mtn
Freestyle Team Relay
Sat Feb 03
MTU CCSA Race - MTU, Houghton - MTU Trails
5/10K MST Classic
Sun Feb 04
MTU CCSA Race - MTU, Houghton - MTU Trails
15/20K INT Freestyle
Sat Feb 10
at CCSA Conference Championship - UWGB Rhinelander - CAVOC
5/10K INT Classic
Sun Feb 11
at CCSA Conference Championship - UWGB Rhinelander - CAVOC
15/20K MST Freestyle
Sat Feb 17
at SuperTour & NCAA Regional Championship - NMU, Ishpeming - Al Qual
5/10K INT Classic
Sun Feb 18
at SuperTour & NCAA Regional Championship - NMU, Ishpeming - Al Qual
15/20K MST Freestyle
Thu Mar 08
at NCAA National Championship - DU, Steamboat Springs, CO
5/10K INT Classic
Sat Mar 10
at NCAA National Championship - DU, Steamboat Springs, CO
15/20K MST Freestyle
Tue Mar 13
at Canadian Nationals - Thunder Bay, Ontario - Lappe Nordic
Wed Mar 14
at Canadian Nationals - Thunder Bay, Ontario - Lappe Nordic
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Nordic Skiing Races in Rhinelander Classic

Huskies Nordic Skiing Races in Rhinelander Classic

 

RHINELANDER, Wis. - The Michigan Tech Nordic ski teams traveled to Rhinelander, Wis. today. The men's team competed in the 10K classic race, the women raced in the 5K.

Two of the Tech women cracked the top 10, Lisa Koenig pulled off an impressive 6th place finish with a time of 16:29.28. Anna Kubek crossed the line in 10th with a time of 16.46.70. Other Huskies finishers were Carolyn Lucca (13th, 16:59.45), Ruth Oppliger (17th, 17:17.66) and Sonja Hedblom (18th, 17:25.71). 

"Lisa and Anna had a really good day. It's good to see them racing hard and picking up Carolyn and Sonja. I think they (Carolyn and Sonja) had a bit of an off day today," said Tech Head Coach Joe Haggenmiller.

Tom Bye and Tomi Mikkonen were neck and neck to the finish for the men's race. Tom pushed past Tomi for 5th place with a time of 27:57.7. Tomi hit the line right after Tom to take 6th place with a time of 27:58.65. David Jaszczak crossed the line at 29:41.51 to claim 11th place. Teammates Daniel Wood (17th, 30:16.75) and Mark Wenzel (26th, 32:47) also completed the course.

"Tom and Tomi both had real strong races. David Jaszczak also skied well today," said Haggenmiller. "We skied classic with the kick wax. Northern had a few guys double poling the course. It was interesting," added Haggenmiller, "but I don't think it affected the race results. Overall, I thought the volunteers and the race organization did a nice job and put together a fun course to race on."

The Huskies will travel to Marquette, Mich. for the NCAA Central Region Skiing Championships next Saturday and Sunday, Feb. 18-19.