Sat Dec 08
Noon (W) / 1:00 pm (M)
at NMU Open - Ishpeming, MI
Sun Dec 09
Noon (M) / 1:00 pm (W)
at NMU Open - Ishpeming, MI
Sat Dec 15
9:30 am (M) / 11:00 am (W)
MTU CXC Cup - Houghton Trails
CL 5/10K IND
Sun Dec 16
9:00 am (W) / 10:00 am (M)
MTU CXC Cup - Houghton Trails
SK 10/10K MS
Thu Jan 03
at US Cross Country Championships - Craftsbury, VT
Classic 10/15K IND
Sat Jan 05
at US Cross Country Championships - Craftsbury, VT
Classic sprint
Mon Jan 07
at US Cross Country Championships - Craftsbury, VT
SK 5/10/20/30K MS
Tue Jan 08
at US Cross Country Championships - Craftsbury, VT
SK Sprint
Sat Jan 26
at UW-Green Bay Invitational - Rhinelander, WI
SK 5/10K IND
Sun Jan 27
at UW-Green Bay Invitational - Rhinelander, WI
CL 15/20K MS
Sat Feb 02
at NMU Invitational - Ishpeming, MI
SK 5/10 IND
Sun Feb 03
at NMU Invitational - Ishpeming, MI
CL 15/20K MS
Sat Feb 16
at CCSA Conference Championships - Minneapolis, MN
CL 15/20K MS
Sun Feb 17
at CCSA Conference Championships - Minneapolis, MN
SK 5/10K IND
Sat Feb 23
NCAA Central Region Championships - Houghton, MI
SK 5/10K IND
Sun Feb 24
NCAA Central Region Championships - Houghton, MI
CL 15/20K MS
Wed Mar 06
at NCAA Championships - Stowe, VT
SK 5/10K IND
Fri Mar 08
at NCAA Championships - Stowe, VT
CL 15/20K MS
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Cuenot Clinches Third Place in Classic Race

Cuenot Clinches Third Place in Classic Race

RHINELANDER, Wis. – The Michigan Tech Huskies Nordic ski team filed into the top 10 in the classic races Sunday at the Minnesota Duluth CCSA races held at the Cavoc Trails. The men raced in a 15K individual classic race where Gaspard Cuenot led the men's team with his 3rd place finish and the women competed in a 10K. Sarah Goble took 6th place.

Junior Gaspard Cuenot took the podium in 3rd place with a time of 41:49.1, earning his best overall finish this ski season.

"It was his strongest classic race of the season by far and one of his best classic races he has ever had," said head coach Tom Smith. "He paced it extremely well and went from the top 10 in the first lap, to the top five in the second lap and hammered it home to put himself on the podium in the finish. It was great to see him come into form."

Also finishing in the top 10 were Tom Bye (6th, 42:32.1), Reid Goble (8th, 42:50.6) and Mitch DeLong (10th, 43:22.8). 

Patrick Acton, just seconds after, finished in 11th place with a time of 43:38.9. Daniel Wood (17th, 44:31.7) and David Jaszczak (18th, 44:32.6) also powered their way into the top 20. 

Freshman Sarah Goble has led the women's team all season and proved herself in the field again today. Goble finished in 6th place with a time of 34:40.1. Amanda Kautzer earned a spot in the top 10, finishing 10th with a time of 35:25.3 followed by teammate Erin Lipp. Lipp hit the line in 16th place for the Huskies with a time of 37:32.1.

"It was great to see both Sarah and Amanda post strong results in the top 10 and to see Erin Lipp pull off a good race for herself, finishing in the top 20," added Smith. 

The Huskies will host the MTU CCSA races on the Tech Trails next weekend (Feb. 3-4). The competition will open Saturday with the classic races followed by the freestyle events Sunday. 

"We are really looking forward to our home races. We plan to get some quality training sessions in this week and we are always so grateful for all of the home support we receive at our home events," said Smith.