No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 12
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 18
Final
53 Minn.-Crookston
74 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 19
Final
62 Concordia-St. Paul
76 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 26
Final
62 Michigan Tech
78 vs. Bellarmine
@ Southern Indiana
Sun Nov 27
Final
79 Michigan Tech
61 at Southern Indiana
Sat Dec 03
Final
68 Walsh
65 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
54 at Lake Erie
Sat Dec 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
59 at Ohio Dominican
Thu Dec 15
Final
61 Hillsdale
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 17
Final
47 Findlay
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 05
Final
75 Michigan Tech
82 at Ashland
Church Night
Sat Jan 07
Final
80 Michigan Tech
46 at Tiffin
Thu Jan 12
Final
66 Michigan Tech
64 at Wayne State
Sat Jan 14
Final
67 Michigan Tech
79 at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Jan 19
Final
62 Northwood
72 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
Final
51 Lake Superior State
73 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 26
Final
48 Grand Valley State
49 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 28
Final
56 Ferris State
70 Michigan Tech
Mon Jan 30
Final
55 Michigan Tech
66 at Northern Michigan
Thu Feb 02
Final
52 Michigan Tech
61 at Northwood
Sat Feb 04
Final
67 Michigan Tech
60 at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 09
Final
61 Wayne State
79 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 11
Final
57 Saginaw Valley State
82 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 16
Final
52 Michigan Tech
64 at Grand Valley State
Sat Feb 18
Final
74 Michigan Tech
64 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 23
Final
37 Northern Michigan
72 Michigan Tech
Tue Feb 28
Final
66 Ohio Dominican
82 Michigan Tech
2017 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 04
Final
59 Michigan Tech
81 at Ashland
2017 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Late Run Falls Short Against No. 1 Ashland

Late Run Falls Short Against No. 1 Ashland

HOUGHTON, Mich. - Daiva Gerbec scored 27 points and Taylor Woods added 21 off the bench to lead No. 1 Ashland to a 76-66 win over the Michigan Tech women's basketball team Saturday (Jan. 5) at the SDC Gymnasium.

"Our post play needs more consistency," said head coach Kim Cameron. "We needed strong post play today."

The Huskies trailed by 12 at halftime, 32-20, due to poor shooting and turnovers. Tech shot 33-percent (9-27) over the first 20 minutes and turned the ball over seven times. The Huskies would finish with 11 turnovers for the game.

Ashland capitalized on Tech's mistakes compiling a 20-3 run over a nine minute span in the first.

The Black and Gold would correct things in the second half. Tech's shooting improved to 46-percent (17-37), and the Huskies made eight of their 10 3-pointers in the second.

Tech mounted a 20-7 run over the final 4:37 but it wouldn't be enough for the win, despite out-scoring Ashland 46-44 over the final 20 minutes.

Despite neither team shooting a free throw in the first half, they would play a big factor in the contest. AU shot 17-22 (77-percent), while Tech made all four of its attempts.

Senior Sam Hoyt lead four Tech players in double digits with 16. She added five assists and four steals.

Senior Emma Veach and freshman Mackenzie Perttu each finished with 15. Fellow freshman Danielle Blake scored a career-high 12 points, shooting 6-of-11.

Overall, 33 of Tech's 66 points came off the bench.

Reigning GLIAC Player of the Year Kari Daugherty finished with 10 points and a game-high 18 rebounds.

Tech (8-4, 6-2) will play at Ferris State Thursday (Jan. 10).