Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at Minn. St. Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minn.-Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Jan 20
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Jan 27
1:00 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
1:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
5:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
1:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
5:30 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
1:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Seniors Key to Women's Basketball Win

Seniors Key to Women's Basketball Win

HOUGHTON, Mich. - Michigan Tech seniors Sam Hoyt and Emma Veach combined for 44 point to lead the Huskies to a 69-58 win over Grand Valley in GLIAC women's basketball action Saturday (Feb. 9).

"I am super proud of our seniors and how they led our team on Winter Carnival against two good teams," said head coach Kim Cameron. "They held us together, and everybody else played for them."

The two teams were evenly matched in the first half. Grand Valley held its largest lead of the game at eight points with 5:31 remaining. Veach scored eight of the team's final 15 points in the half to narrow the Laker lead to just one 31-30.

The Huskies out-scored the Lakers 39-27 in the second half. Tech shot 50-percent (10-20) while holding Grand Valley to 39-percent (10-26) from the field over the final 20 minutes.

Tech finished with advantages in points in the paint (20-12) and points off turnovers (16-6).

Both teams attempted 15 3-pointers in the contest with the Huskies making 10 to the Lakers four.

Sam Hoyt finished with 23 points and five rebounds. Emma Veach finished with a career-high 21 points, including a career-high five 3-pointers. She also grabbed seven rebounds.

Sophomore Jillian Ritchie was the third Husky in double figures with 12.

Briauna Taylor led the Lakers with 17 points.

Tech (15-6, 13-4) will play at Wayne State Thursday (Feb. 14).