No Event
Sat Nov 12
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 18
Final
53 Minn.-Crookston
74 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 19
Final
62 Concordia-St. Paul
76 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 26
Final
62 Michigan Tech
78 vs. Bellarmine
@ Southern Indiana
Sun Nov 27
Final
79 Michigan Tech
61 at Southern Indiana
Sat Dec 03
Final
68 Walsh
65 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 08
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Erie
Sat Dec 10
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ohio Dominican
Thu Dec 15
5:30 PM
Hillsdale
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 17
4:00 PM
Findlay
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 05
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 07
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Tiffin
Thu Jan 12
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Jan 14
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Jan 19
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
1:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 26
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 28
1:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Mon Jan 30
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Feb 02
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 04
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 09
5:30 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 11
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 16
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Feb 18
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 23
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Tue Feb 28
TBA
GLIAC Quarterfinals
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Sat Mar 04
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Sun Mar 05
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Can't Overcome Slow Start

Huskies Can't Overcome Slow Start

DETROIT, Mich. - Michigan Tech's second half rally came up short as the women's basketball team lost on the road to Wayne State 55-53 Thursday (Feb. 14).

"We had our opportunities tonight," said head coach Kim Cameron. "Our seniors did everything humanly possible to will us to the win, but we fell short. We need everyone in a game like that if we want to be successful. We missed some big box outs and big free throws. It was a one point game, and we couldn't get over the hump."

Senior Sam Hoyt scored a game-high 27 points, three steals and one block.

Senior Emma Veach added 11 points and six rebounds.

The Huskies struggled in the first half shooting 17-percent (6-34) from the field without a single 3-point field goal and making 3-of-6 free throws.

The Warriors shot 32-percent (8-25) from the field and 7-of-11 from the line over the first 20 minutes to lead 23-15.

Tech turned things around in the second half shooting 44-percent (13-29) from the field and converting four of its eight 3-point attempts.

Wayne State led by as many as 13 with 12:46 remaining, but Tech would battle back.

The Huskies cut it to a one possession game several times but could not take the lead. The Warriors finished with a 55-37 advantage in rebounds, including 22-14 on the offensive end.

Senior Emma Veach drained a 3-pointer with 20 seconds remaining to pull the Huskies within one, 54-53. WSU missed both free throws but grabbed the offensive rebound. Wayne State made one of the two free throws giving the Huskies the ball down two with 14 seconds remaining. The Huskies turned it over on its final possession of the game.

Wayne State finished with more made free throws (221) than attempts (20) by Tech.

Juanita Cochran (18 points, 14 rebounds) and Phaebre Colbert (11 points, 15 rebounds) each tallied a double-double for the Warriors.

Tech (15-7, 13-5) will play its final road game of the regular season at Saginaw Valley State Saturday (Feb. 16).