No Event
Sat Nov 12
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 18
Final
53 Minn.-Crookston
74 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 19
Final
62 Concordia-St. Paul
76 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 26
Final
62 Michigan Tech
78 vs. Bellarmine
@ Southern Indiana
Sun Nov 27
Final
79 Michigan Tech
61 at Southern Indiana
Sat Dec 03
Final
68 Walsh
65 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
54 at Lake Erie
Sat Dec 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
59 at Ohio Dominican
Thu Dec 15
Final
61 Hillsdale
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 17
Final
47 Findlay
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 05
Final
75 Michigan Tech
82 at Ashland
Church Night
Sat Jan 07
Final
80 Michigan Tech
46 at Tiffin
Thu Jan 12
Final
66 Michigan Tech
64 at Wayne State
Sat Jan 14
Final
67 Michigan Tech
79 at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Jan 19
Final
62 Northwood
72 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
Final
51 Lake Superior State
73 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 26
Final
48 Grand Valley State
49 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 28
Final
56 Ferris State
70 Michigan Tech
Mon Jan 30
Final
55 Michigan Tech
66 at Northern Michigan
Thu Feb 02
Final
52 Michigan Tech
61 at Northwood
Sat Feb 04
Final
67 Michigan Tech
60 at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 09
Final
61 Wayne State
79 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 11
Final
57 Saginaw Valley State
82 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 16
Final
52 Michigan Tech
64 at Grand Valley State
Sat Feb 18
Final
74 Michigan Tech
64 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 23
Final
37 Northern Michigan
72 Michigan Tech
Tue Feb 28
5:30 PM
Ohio Dominican
Michigan Tech
2017 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 04
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Sun Mar 05
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Shut Down Lakers in 57-38 Women's Basketball Win

Huskies Shut Down Lakers in 57-38 Women's Basketball Win

HOUGHTON, Mich. — The Michigan Tech women's basketball team used a balanced scoring attack and stifling defense to earn a 57-38 victory at the SDC Gym today. The Huskies held the Lakers to just 17 first half points and 12 field goals for the game to improve to 18-7 overall and 16-5 in GLIAC play.

The visitors grabbed an early 10-6 lead before the Huskies turned things around. Emily Harrison had six points and four rebounds in three-minute stretch to take the Black and Gold lead from five points to nine by the 7:48 mark.

The margin grew to as many as 14 in the frame, and Tech settled for a 29-17 lead at the break. Emma Veach buried a 3-pointer to open the second half and the hosts never led by fewer than 13 the rest of the way.

The Huskies continued their stout defense in the second half, forcing LSSU into six turnovers and 19 missed field goals.

Eleven different Huskies played, and 10 scored. Seven of those 10 had at least four points in the contest.

Kylie Moxley posted a team-high 13 points to go with four rebounds. Jillian Ritchie added nine points, and Sam Hoyt had eight. Harrison finished with a game-high seven rebounds.

"The effort was phenomenal," said head coach Kim Cameron of her team's defense. "We gave up eight points by the first media timeout and only nine in the half after that.

"To hold a team under 20 points for a half, then go and nearly do it again in the second half is fantastic."

Tech finished the game with a 44-35 advantage in rebounds while committing just nine turnovers in 40 minutes.

Neither team shot the ball particularly well. Tech made 18-of-55 field goals (33 percent) compared to 12-of-49 by LSSU (25 percent).

Michigan Tech has just one game left on its 2012-13 regular season schedule. That comes next Saturday (Mar. 2) at home vs. rival Northern Michigan.

Notes: Tech's defensive performance of allowing just 38 points was its best of the season. The previous low allowed was 45 points in a 59-45 victory over Lake Erie on Jan. 3.