Sat Nov 12
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 18
5:30 PM
Minn.-Crookston
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 19
4:00 PM
Concordia-St. Paul
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 26
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Bellarmine
@ Southern Indiana
Sun Nov 27
3:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Southern Indiana
Sat Dec 03
1:00 PM
Walsh
Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 08
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Erie
Sat Dec 10
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ohio Dominican
Thu Dec 15
5:30 PM
Hillsdale
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 17
4:00 PM
Findlay
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 05
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 07
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Tiffin
Thu Jan 12
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Jan 14
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Jan 19
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
1:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 26
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 28
1:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Mon Jan 30
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Feb 02
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 04
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 09
5:30 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 11
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 16
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Feb 18
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 23
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Tue Feb 28
TBA
GLIAC Quarterfinals
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Sat Mar 04
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Sun Mar 05
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Women's Basketball

13 Conference Titles 18 NCAA Appearances

Huskies Shut Down Lakers in 57-38 Women's Basketball Win

Huskies Shut Down Lakers in 57-38 Women's Basketball Win

HOUGHTON, Mich. — The Michigan Tech women's basketball team used a balanced scoring attack and stifling defense to earn a 57-38 victory at the SDC Gym today. The Huskies held the Lakers to just 17 first half points and 12 field goals for the game to improve to 18-7 overall and 16-5 in GLIAC play.

The visitors grabbed an early 10-6 lead before the Huskies turned things around. Emily Harrison had six points and four rebounds in three-minute stretch to take the Black and Gold lead from five points to nine by the 7:48 mark.

The margin grew to as many as 14 in the frame, and Tech settled for a 29-17 lead at the break. Emma Veach buried a 3-pointer to open the second half and the hosts never led by fewer than 13 the rest of the way.

The Huskies continued their stout defense in the second half, forcing LSSU into six turnovers and 19 missed field goals.

Eleven different Huskies played, and 10 scored. Seven of those 10 had at least four points in the contest.

Kylie Moxley posted a team-high 13 points to go with four rebounds. Jillian Ritchie added nine points, and Sam Hoyt had eight. Harrison finished with a game-high seven rebounds.

"The effort was phenomenal," said head coach Kim Cameron of her team's defense. "We gave up eight points by the first media timeout and only nine in the half after that.

"To hold a team under 20 points for a half, then go and nearly do it again in the second half is fantastic."

Tech finished the game with a 44-35 advantage in rebounds while committing just nine turnovers in 40 minutes.

Neither team shot the ball particularly well. Tech made 18-of-55 field goals (33 percent) compared to 12-of-49 by LSSU (25 percent).

Michigan Tech has just one game left on its 2012-13 regular season schedule. That comes next Saturday (Mar. 2) at home vs. rival Northern Michigan.

Notes: Tech's defensive performance of allowing just 38 points was its best of the season. The previous low allowed was 45 points in a 59-45 victory over Lake Erie on Jan. 3.