Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at Minn. St. Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minn.-Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule

Huskies Shut Down Lakers in 57-38 Women's Basketball Win

Huskies Shut Down Lakers in 57-38 Women's Basketball Win

HOUGHTON, Mich. — The Michigan Tech women's basketball team used a balanced scoring attack and stifling defense to earn a 57-38 victory at the SDC Gym today. The Huskies held the Lakers to just 17 first half points and 12 field goals for the game to improve to 18-7 overall and 16-5 in GLIAC play.

The visitors grabbed an early 10-6 lead before the Huskies turned things around. Emily Harrison had six points and four rebounds in three-minute stretch to take the Black and Gold lead from five points to nine by the 7:48 mark.

The margin grew to as many as 14 in the frame, and Tech settled for a 29-17 lead at the break. Emma Veach buried a 3-pointer to open the second half and the hosts never led by fewer than 13 the rest of the way.

The Huskies continued their stout defense in the second half, forcing LSSU into six turnovers and 19 missed field goals.

Eleven different Huskies played, and 10 scored. Seven of those 10 had at least four points in the contest.

Kylie Moxley posted a team-high 13 points to go with four rebounds. Jillian Ritchie added nine points, and Sam Hoyt had eight. Harrison finished with a game-high seven rebounds.

"The effort was phenomenal," said head coach Kim Cameron of her team's defense. "We gave up eight points by the first media timeout and only nine in the half after that.

"To hold a team under 20 points for a half, then go and nearly do it again in the second half is fantastic."

Tech finished the game with a 44-35 advantage in rebounds while committing just nine turnovers in 40 minutes.

Neither team shot the ball particularly well. Tech made 18-of-55 field goals (33 percent) compared to 12-of-49 by LSSU (25 percent).

Michigan Tech has just one game left on its 2012-13 regular season schedule. That comes next Saturday (Mar. 2) at home vs. rival Northern Michigan.

Notes: Tech's defensive performance of allowing just 38 points was its best of the season. The previous low allowed was 45 points in a 59-45 victory over Lake Erie on Jan. 3.