Sat Nov 12
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 18
5:30 PM
Minn.-Crookston
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 19
4:00 PM
Concordia-St. Paul
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 26
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Bellarmine
@ Southern Indiana
Sun Nov 27
3:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Southern Indiana
Sat Dec 03
1:00 PM
Walsh
Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 08
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Erie
Sat Dec 10
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ohio Dominican
Thu Dec 15
5:30 PM
Hillsdale
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 17
4:00 PM
Findlay
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 05
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 07
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Tiffin
Thu Jan 12
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Jan 14
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Jan 19
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
1:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 26
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 28
1:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Mon Jan 30
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Feb 02
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 04
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 09
5:30 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 11
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 16
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Feb 18
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 23
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Tue Feb 28
TBA
GLIAC Quarterfinals
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Sat Mar 04
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Sun Mar 05
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Women Defeat Grand Valley to Advance to GLIAC Semifinals

Women Defeat Grand Valley to Advance to GLIAC Semifinals

HOUGHTON, Mich. - Senior Sam Hoyt led three Michigan Tech women's basketball players in double figures in a 71-56 win in the quarterfinals of the GLIAC Tournament Wednesday (March 6). The Arkansaw, Wis., native poured in 20 points shooting 6-of-10 from the field, including three 3-pointers. She finished with five rebounds, four assists and three steals.

"I think she was trying to have a memorable last night at home," said head coach Kim Cameron regarding Sam Hoyt's final home game in a Tech uniform.

The Huskies virtually led from the start thanks to strong defense. Tech held Grand Valley State to 35-percent (10-29) from the field and 1-of-6 (17-percent) from behind the arc in the first half. The Huskies would lead by as many as 18 in the half before heading to the locker room with a 37-25 lead.

The defensive dominance continued for the Huskies in the second half where they led by as many as 21. Tech held Grand Valley to 34-percent (12-35) from the field and 0-for-7 from deep.

Tech's offense shot 47-percent (23-49) from the field including 7-of-12 (58-percent) from deep. Tech shot 18-of-21 from the free throw line compared to Grand Valley who shot 11-of-17.

Sophomore Jillian Ritchie scored a career-high 18 points shooting 5-of-10 from the field and 3-of-4 from behind the arc. The De Pere, Wis., native grabbed nine rebounds and finished with two blocks and one steal.

"I felt Jillian was a difference maker tonight all over the floor," said Cameron. "She was incredible, and has really stepped up for us."

Freshman Kylie Moxley was the third Tech player in double-digits with 16.

Alex Stelfox and Daina Grazulis each finished with 10 points for the Lakers. GVSU held a 34-14 lead in points in the paint.

Tech (20-7) will face Ashland in the semifinals of the GLIAC Tournament Saturday (March 9).