Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at Minn. St. Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minn.-Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule

Huskies Win GLIAC Opener Against Malone on Thursday

Huskies Win GLIAC Opener Against Malone on Thursday

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team opened GLIAC play by defeating previously unbeaten Malone 53-48 on Thursday (Dec. 5) night from the SDC Gym. Three Huskies scored in double figures and Tech held the Pioneers—a team that was averaging more than 80 points per game—to only 24 points in each half.

Up one with 6:45 left, Mackenzie Perttu scored five straight points to give Tech a 50-44 lead. Kerry Gardner added a free throw before Malone's Leslie Raifsnider and Lindsy Snyder made layups to cut Tech's lead to three with 57 seconds left.

Danielle Blake sealed the win for the Huskies with a pair of free throws with 15 ticks left. She then blocked a Pioneer 3-point try before the final buzzer.

"We won this game on the defensive end," Tech coach Kim Cameron said. "To allow a team like that to only score 24 points in each half was awesome. We focused on defense for the last two weeks and I'm proud of our effort tonight."

Tech (2-2, 1-0 GLIAC) went on a 12-3 run to begin the second half after the game was knotted up at 24 and led by as many was 12 with 13:58 left. Malone cut the game down to one, making it 45-44 after a 17-6 run.

Blake finished with her first career double-double, scoring 12 points and adding 11 rebounds. She also had two assists, two blocks and two steals.

Kylie Moxley scored a team-high 14 points, shooting 6-for-11 from the field while adding seven rebounds. Perttu finished with 13 points, all in the second half.

"At the beginning I thought Dani Blake did a great job and Mackenzie Perttu was very good down the stretch," Cameron added.

Tech shot 36 percent from the floor on 21-for-59 shooting. The Huskies made 5-of-6 (83 percent) from the free throw line and outrebounded Malone 42-34.

Malone (4-1, 0-1 GLIAC) shot 35 percent from the floor and 63 percent from the charity stripe. Snyder was also in double figures for the visitors with 13 points.

Tech led by seven twice in the first half, but a layup by Malone with 39 seconds left tied it at 24. Reale scored 15 of her game-high 18 points in the opening frame.

The Huskies finish the weekend on Saturday (Dec. 7) with a 1 p.m. tip against Walsh. The Cavaliers fell 76-74 at Northern Michigan on Thursday.