No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 12
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 18
Final
53 Minn.-Crookston
74 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 19
Final
62 Concordia-St. Paul
76 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 26
Final
62 Michigan Tech
78 vs. Bellarmine
@ Southern Indiana
Sun Nov 27
Final
79 Michigan Tech
61 at Southern Indiana
Sat Dec 03
1:00 PM
Walsh
Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 08
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Erie
Sat Dec 10
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ohio Dominican
Thu Dec 15
5:30 PM
Hillsdale
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 17
4:00 PM
Findlay
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 05
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 07
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Tiffin
Thu Jan 12
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Jan 14
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Jan 19
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
1:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 26
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 28
1:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Mon Jan 30
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Feb 02
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 04
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 09
5:30 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 11
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 16
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Feb 18
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 23
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Tue Feb 28
TBA
GLIAC Quarterfinals
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Sat Mar 04
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Sun Mar 05
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Win GLIAC Opener Against Malone on Thursday

Huskies Win GLIAC Opener Against Malone on Thursday

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team opened GLIAC play by defeating previously unbeaten Malone 53-48 on Thursday (Dec. 5) night from the SDC Gym. Three Huskies scored in double figures and Tech held the Pioneers—a team that was averaging more than 80 points per game—to only 24 points in each half.

Up one with 6:45 left, Mackenzie Perttu scored five straight points to give Tech a 50-44 lead. Kerry Gardner added a free throw before Malone's Leslie Raifsnider and Lindsy Snyder made layups to cut Tech's lead to three with 57 seconds left.

Danielle Blake sealed the win for the Huskies with a pair of free throws with 15 ticks left. She then blocked a Pioneer 3-point try before the final buzzer.

"We won this game on the defensive end," Tech coach Kim Cameron said. "To allow a team like that to only score 24 points in each half was awesome. We focused on defense for the last two weeks and I'm proud of our effort tonight."

Tech (2-2, 1-0 GLIAC) went on a 12-3 run to begin the second half after the game was knotted up at 24 and led by as many was 12 with 13:58 left. Malone cut the game down to one, making it 45-44 after a 17-6 run.

Blake finished with her first career double-double, scoring 12 points and adding 11 rebounds. She also had two assists, two blocks and two steals.

Kylie Moxley scored a team-high 14 points, shooting 6-for-11 from the field while adding seven rebounds. Perttu finished with 13 points, all in the second half.

"At the beginning I thought Dani Blake did a great job and Mackenzie Perttu was very good down the stretch," Cameron added.

Tech shot 36 percent from the floor on 21-for-59 shooting. The Huskies made 5-of-6 (83 percent) from the free throw line and outrebounded Malone 42-34.

Malone (4-1, 0-1 GLIAC) shot 35 percent from the floor and 63 percent from the charity stripe. Snyder was also in double figures for the visitors with 13 points.

Tech led by seven twice in the first half, but a layup by Malone with 39 seconds left tied it at 24. Reale scored 15 of her game-high 18 points in the opening frame.

The Huskies finish the weekend on Saturday (Dec. 7) with a 1 p.m. tip against Walsh. The Cavaliers fell 76-74 at Northern Michigan on Thursday.