No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 12
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 18
Final
53 Minn.-Crookston
74 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 19
Final
62 Concordia-St. Paul
76 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 26
Final
62 Michigan Tech
78 vs. Bellarmine
@ Southern Indiana
Sun Nov 27
Final
79 Michigan Tech
61 at Southern Indiana
Sat Dec 03
Final
68 Walsh
65 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
54 at Lake Erie
Sat Dec 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
59 at Ohio Dominican
Thu Dec 15
Final
61 Hillsdale
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 17
Final
47 Findlay
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 05
Final
75 Michigan Tech
82 at Ashland
Church Night
Sat Jan 07
Final
80 Michigan Tech
46 at Tiffin
Thu Jan 12
Final
66 Michigan Tech
64 at Wayne State
Sat Jan 14
Final
67 Michigan Tech
79 at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Jan 19
Final
62 Northwood
72 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
Final
51 Lake Superior State
73 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 26
Final
48 Grand Valley State
49 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 28
Final
56 Ferris State
70 Michigan Tech
Mon Jan 30
Final
55 Michigan Tech
66 at Northern Michigan
Thu Feb 02
Final
52 Michigan Tech
61 at Northwood
Sat Feb 04
Final
67 Michigan Tech
60 at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 09
Final
61 Wayne State
79 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 11
Final
57 Saginaw Valley State
82 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 16
Final
52 Michigan Tech
64 at Grand Valley State
Sat Feb 18
Final
74 Michigan Tech
64 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 23
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Tue Feb 28
TBA
GLIAC Quarterfinals
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Sat Mar 04
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Sun Mar 05
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Win GLIAC Opener Against Malone on Thursday

Huskies Win GLIAC Opener Against Malone on Thursday

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team opened GLIAC play by defeating previously unbeaten Malone 53-48 on Thursday (Dec. 5) night from the SDC Gym. Three Huskies scored in double figures and Tech held the Pioneers—a team that was averaging more than 80 points per game—to only 24 points in each half.

Up one with 6:45 left, Mackenzie Perttu scored five straight points to give Tech a 50-44 lead. Kerry Gardner added a free throw before Malone's Leslie Raifsnider and Lindsy Snyder made layups to cut Tech's lead to three with 57 seconds left.

Danielle Blake sealed the win for the Huskies with a pair of free throws with 15 ticks left. She then blocked a Pioneer 3-point try before the final buzzer.

"We won this game on the defensive end," Tech coach Kim Cameron said. "To allow a team like that to only score 24 points in each half was awesome. We focused on defense for the last two weeks and I'm proud of our effort tonight."

Tech (2-2, 1-0 GLIAC) went on a 12-3 run to begin the second half after the game was knotted up at 24 and led by as many was 12 with 13:58 left. Malone cut the game down to one, making it 45-44 after a 17-6 run.

Blake finished with her first career double-double, scoring 12 points and adding 11 rebounds. She also had two assists, two blocks and two steals.

Kylie Moxley scored a team-high 14 points, shooting 6-for-11 from the field while adding seven rebounds. Perttu finished with 13 points, all in the second half.

"At the beginning I thought Dani Blake did a great job and Mackenzie Perttu was very good down the stretch," Cameron added.

Tech shot 36 percent from the floor on 21-for-59 shooting. The Huskies made 5-of-6 (83 percent) from the free throw line and outrebounded Malone 42-34.

Malone (4-1, 0-1 GLIAC) shot 35 percent from the floor and 63 percent from the charity stripe. Snyder was also in double figures for the visitors with 13 points.

Tech led by seven twice in the first half, but a layup by Malone with 39 seconds left tied it at 24. Reale scored 15 of her game-high 18 points in the opening frame.

The Huskies finish the weekend on Saturday (Dec. 7) with a 1 p.m. tip against Walsh. The Cavaliers fell 76-74 at Northern Michigan on Thursday.