No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 12
Final
60 Michigan Tech
47 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 18
Final
53 Minn.-Crookston
74 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 19
Final
62 Concordia-St. Paul
76 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 26
Final
62 Michigan Tech
78 vs. Bellarmine
@ Southern Indiana
Sun Nov 27
Final
79 Michigan Tech
61 at Southern Indiana
Sat Dec 03
Final
68 Walsh
65 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
54 at Lake Erie
Sat Dec 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
59 at Ohio Dominican
Thu Dec 15
Final
61 Hillsdale
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 17
Final
47 Findlay
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 05
Final
75 Michigan Tech
82 at Ashland
Church Night
Sat Jan 07
Final
80 Michigan Tech
46 at Tiffin
Thu Jan 12
Final
66 Michigan Tech
64 at Wayne State
Sat Jan 14
Final
67 Michigan Tech
79 at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Jan 19
Final
62 Northwood
72 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
Final
51 Lake Superior State
73 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 26
Final
48 Grand Valley State
49 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 28
Final
56 Ferris State
70 Michigan Tech
Mon Jan 30
Final
55 Michigan Tech
66 at Northern Michigan
Thu Feb 02
Final
52 Michigan Tech
61 at Northwood
Sat Feb 04
Final
67 Michigan Tech
60 at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 09
Final
61 Wayne State
79 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 11
Final
57 Saginaw Valley State
82 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 16
Final
52 Michigan Tech
64 at Grand Valley State
Sat Feb 18
Final
74 Michigan Tech
64 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 23
Final
37 Northern Michigan
72 Michigan Tech
Tue Feb 28
Final
66 Ohio Dominican
82 Michigan Tech
2017 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 04
Final
59 Michigan Tech
81 at Ashland
2017 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Blake Leads Huskies to Win at Ashland on Saturday

Blake Leads Huskies to Win at Ashland on Saturday

ASHLAND, OhioDanielle Blake dominated on both ends of the floor to lead Michigan Tech to a 66-61 win over Ashland on Saturday (Jan. 11) at Kates Gymnasium. The Huskies and Eagles found themselves on the national stage, but it was Blake and the Black and Gold making the big plays down the stretch, snapping a six-game losing streak to Ashland.

The sophomore guard finished with 32 points on 12-for-19 shooting from the floor and 8-for-10 from the free throw line. Blake also drew the assignment of slowing down Ashland guard Taylor Woods and held her to only 3-for-14 shooting while adding four rebounds, two blocks and two steals.

"Dani was flat out dominant today," Tech women's basketball coach Kim Carmon said. "It seems that we see the best offense out of her when she is totally focused in on defense, and that's what it was today."

The game was televised on CBS Sports Network as part of the CBS Division II Game of the Week. Tipoff was at 11:30 a.m. in front of 1,754 fans.

Two old-fashioned three-point plays by Blake in the late stages held the Eagles at bay, and she sealed the deal with a pair free throws with six seconds left.

Tech has now won nine games in a row and stands at 10-2 overall and a perfect 8-0 in GLIAC play. Saturday's game was the final against the South Division.

"It means a lot for us to finish unbeaten against the South," Cameron said. "That was one of the things we talked about in the preseason."

The Huskies held their lead for most of the second half until the Eagles tied it at 52 and then took a one-point lead on a 3-point play by Rachelle Morrison with 6:25 left.

Blake gave Tech's its lead back with a jumper and then Jillian Ritchie scored a layup as the shot clock ticked down.

On the next Ashland (7-5, 5-3 GLIAC) possession, Blake tipped away a pass and went one-on-one with her defender and got a bucket and a foul. She completed the three-point play for a five-point lead (59-54) with 4:40 left.

Ashland cut it back to three before Kylie Moxley scored after rebounding her own miss with 3:22 remaining.

Ashland scored a three-point play after an offensive rebound but Blake answered with a bucket and a free throw on the other end for a 64-59 lead with 1:58 remaining. The teams traded free throws down the stretch.

As a team, the Huskies shot 44.8 percent (26-for-58) from the floor and made only 4-for-14 from the 3-point line.

Moxley finished with eight points while Kerry Gardner added seven. Paige Albi had six points on a pair of 3-pointers and Ritchie finished with five on two driving layups with the shot clock winding down. Ritchie also added six rebounds, two assists a block and a steal.

Melanie Poorman (15) led four Eagles in double figures as Suzy Wollenhaupt (13), McKenzie Miller (12) and Woods (10) also scored 10 points. Ashland shot 42.4 percent (25-for-59) from the field and was 0-for-5 from three.

Both teams had 35 rebounds and 12 turnovers.

The Huskies host Ferris State and Grand Valley State next weekend at the SDC Gym to open play against the North Division.

Notes: Blake's previous career-high was 18 in the season-opener…Blake hadn't scored more than 12 points in a GLIAC game before today…The win snapped a four-game losing streak at Ashland…Tech is now 2-1 on national TV in the program's history…The Huskies are 5-0 on the road this season.