No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
6:00 PM
St. Norbert
Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Eastern Mich.
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
5:00 PM
Ursuline
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich. (Ferris State Invitational)
Sat Nov 10
1:00 PM
Davis & Elkins
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich. (Ferris State Invitational)
Fri Nov 16
6:00 PM
MSU-Moorhead
Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
1:00 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, Ind. (USI Tournament)
Sun Nov 25
3:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Southern Indiana
Thu Nov 29
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
5:30 PM
Parkside
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
1:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
4:00 PM
Lewis
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
5:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
1:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Bounce Back with Impressive Victory over Southern Indiana

Huskies Bounce Back with Impressive Victory over Southern Indiana

EVANSVILLE, Ind. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team regrouped on Sunday with an impressive 79-61 win over previously unbeaten University of Southern Indiana on day two of the USI Thanksgiving Classic. The Huskies never trailed in the game and a strong third quarter allowed them to pull away in the second half.

"This was a big victory for us and our team responded very well after a tough loss yesterday," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kim Cameron said. "We couldn't be more proud of the effort from our players today and the intensity that they played with. It was a fun game to be a part of and watch with us playing at such a high level. Our defense was really strong, especially in the second half and enabled us to pull away in the third quarter. We did an outstanding job controlling the basketball and limiting turnovers especially since we faced a pressure defense the entire game. We rebounded well, hit our open shots, and handled the press which was big for us this afternoon."

Michigan Tech (4-1) set the tone in the opening two minutes of the game when senior Morgan Anderson cut through the defense for a pair of layups to make it a 4-0 score. Southern Indiana (5-1) countered with the next four points which created the only tie in Sunday's game at 4-4. Hannah Wascher tossed in a pair of free throws and Kaydie Grooms banked in a layup to account for the four points.

The Huskies then took the lead for good with a quick 8-2 scoring burst to go up 12-6 with 5:44 left in the first quarter. Anderson hit a pair of triples and Brenna Heise connected on a jump shot during the run. The Screaming Eagles kept it close when Tanner Marcum cashed in a triple to cut the lead to 12-11 with just under four minutes remaining in the first period. Heise then notched a pair of field goals and Anderson dialed in another trey from behind the arc to close out the quarter, giving the Huskies a 19-14 advantage with 10 minutes in the books.

Southern Indiana managed to pull to within two points of the Huskies on five different occasions in the second quarter, but Tech had an answer each time to keep the lead and prevent the Screaming Eagles from grabbing any of the momentum. Leading 34-32 with 2:32 remaining on the second quarter clock, the Huskies closed the period with the final four points. Redshirt junior Kelli Guy had a layup and two free throws, creating a 38-32 gap in favor of Tech as both teams went into the locker room at halftime.

The Huskies then took control of the game by outscoring the Screaming Eagles 26-10 in the third quarter. Sophomore Elizabeth Kelliher gave Tech its first double digit lead at 47-36 with 6:16 left on the clock thanks to a pair of free throws. Heise bumped the advantage to 56-38 on a jumper with 3:09 left in the third and then with just over one-minute left Guy found the mark from behind the arc to make the score 59-40. Guy then capped the quarter with another triple just before the buzzer sounded, resulting in a 64-42 Tech advantage through 30 minutes of play.

The Huskies largest lead occurred 10 seconds into the fourth quarter on a Heise jumper to make it 66-42. Southern Indiana brought the gap down to 15 points at 70-55 with 4:57 to play on a jumper by Morgan Dahlstrom, but that's as close as the Screaming Eagles would get.

Heise led the Huskies with a season high 24 points thanks to a 10 for 18 shooting performance from the field. She was also 4 for 4 at the free throw line, grabbed five rebounds, and blocked a pair of shots. Anderson followed with 20 points and was 8 of 15 from the field, including four triples. She also grabbed a team high seven rebounds and dished out four assists on the afternoon. Guy rounded out the double digit scorers for the Huskies with a season high 18 points. Guy was 6 for 11 from the field, knocked down four shots from behind the arc, distributed three assists, and grabbed five rebounds.

As a team, Tech was 29 of 63 from the field (46.0%), 9 of 22 from three-point range (40.9%), and 12 for 13 at the charity stripe (92.3%). The Huskies out-rebounded Southern Indiana 31-30, had 14 total assists, created 20 points off turnovers by forcing 16 Screaming Eagles miscues.

Grooms and Marcum each had 11 points to pace Southern Indiana in Sunday's game. Kacy Eschweiler grabbed six rebounds off the bench and contributed four points. Dahlstrom chipped in nine points and Tasia Brewer added eight points in the contest. The Screaming Eagles were 20 of 45 from the field (44.4%), 4 of 7 from three-point range (57.1%), and 17 of 23 at the free throw line (73.9%).

The Huskies will return to the court on Saturday when they host Walsh University in the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference opener at the SDC Gymnasium. The tip-off is scheduled for 1 p.m.