No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
6:00 PM
St. Norbert
Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Eastern Mich.
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
5:00 PM
Ursuline
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich. (Ferris State Invitational)
Sat Nov 10
1:00 PM
Davis & Elkins
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich. (Ferris State Invitational)
Fri Nov 16
6:00 PM
MSU-Moorhead
Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
1:00 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, Ind. (USI Tournament)
Sun Nov 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Southern Indiana
Thu Nov 29
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
5:30 PM
Parkside
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
1:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
4:00 PM
Lewis
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
5:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
5:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
1:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 26
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Strong Second Half Sends Huskies Past Lake Erie

Strong Second Half Sends Huskies Past Lake Erie

PAINESVILLE, Ohio – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team powered past Lake Erie Thursday night on the road for a key 71-54 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference victory. The Huskies started slow, but countered with a strong second half to outscore the Storm by 17 points during the final 20 minutes.

"It was a tough start for us and we were a little disappointed in the first half, but put some things together in the second half," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kim Cameron said. "Brenna (Heise) was a leader for us in the second half. She really came out and put the team on her shoulders which is what we needed. We needed somebody to do that and she stepped up big for us."

Michigan Tech (5-2, 1-1 GLIAC) struck first on Thursday night when sophomore forward Elizabeth Kelliher connected on a two-point field goal to open the scoring. Lake Erie (2-6, 0-3 GLIAC) countered with the next five points to create a 5-2 edge with just under five minutes to play in the first quarter. The Storm then boosted the gap to 10-4 on a Josie Chaddock bucket at the 3:18 mark of the first period.

The Huskies began to find a bit of a rhythm offensively in the final minutes of the first quarter. Tech engineered a 9-1 scoring burst to close out the first frame and carry a 13-11 edge into the second. A layup by redshirt junior Kelli Guy got things rolling followed by a jumper from freshman guard Baillie McGirk, a layup from sophomore forward Michelle LaFave, and a triple courtesy of senior Morgan Anderson.

Midway through the second quarter, the Huskies boosted their lead to 23-15 after junior guard Lindsay Winter drove to the basket for a layup. However, Lake Erie would not let things get away from them in the second quarter and clawed back to tie the score right before halftime. Sophie Sonnenman got an offensive rebound and put back in the final minute to knot the score at 25-25 midway through the contest.

Both teams traded baskets through the first seven minutes of the third quarter, until a key scoring run by the Huskies turned the tide of the game. With the score deadlocked at 39-39, Tech reeled off nine straight points to go in front for good. Anderson found redshirt junior guard Brenna Heise under the basket with a precision pass for the first two points. Heise then hit a jumper on the baseline and tossed in an additional layup to make it a 45-39 score with 1:41 remaining in the third. Kelliher capped the run with a conventional three-point play.

The Huskies carried a 48-41 advantage into the fourth quarter and continued to build on it over the last 10 minutes. Tech led by double digits for the first time when Guy dialed in a triple to make it 61-49 with 5:18 on the clock. The Storm would get no closer the rest of the way as Guy finished off the scoring with another trey at the 1:08 mark in the fourth quarter, resulting in the final score of 71-54.

Heise guided the Huskies with 22 points and 12 rebounds on Thursday night. It was also the first double-double of the season for Tech. Heise was 10 of 15 from the field and 2 of 3 at the free throw line. She also posted four steals and had a blocked shot. Guy followed Heise with 14 points and Anderson closed the contest with 13 points for the Huskies. Guy paced the team in assists with four and Kelliher picked up three more blocked shots to go along with seven points and seven rebounds. Winter had a solid night off the bench with 11 points, three assists, and two steals.

As a team, the Huskies connected on 29 of 60 shots from the field (48.3%), were 10 of 28 from three-point range (35.7%), and 3 of 4 at the foul line (75.0%). Tech out-rebounded Lake Erie 37-32 and forced 16 turnovers which led to 12 points.

Christine Dawson had 18 points and five rebounds for the Storm followed by Kayla Gabor with 17 points, eight rebounds, and four assists. Lake Erie was limited to 18 of 52 shooting from the field (34.6%), they were 1 of 7 from behind the arc, and 17 of 23 at the free throw line.

Michigan Tech will now head to Columbus, Ohio on Saturday for another GLIAC battle with Ohio Dominican.

"Ohio Dominican is a really good team and they have very good post play," Cameron added. "We have to make sure we are at the top of our game in order to have a chance to go 2-0 on the road trip."

Saturday's tip-off is scheduled for 1 p.m.