No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
6:00 PM
St. Norbert
Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Eastern Mich.
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
5:00 PM
Ursuline
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich. (Ferris State Invitational)
Sat Nov 10
1:00 PM
Davis & Elkins
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich. (Ferris State Invitational)
Fri Nov 16
6:00 PM
MSU-Moorhead
Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
1:00 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, Ind. (USI Tournament)
Sun Nov 25
3:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Southern Indiana
Thu Nov 29
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
5:30 PM
Parkside
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
1:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
4:00 PM
Lewis
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
5:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
1:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Topple 19th Ranked MSU-Moorhead 66-53

Huskies Topple 19th Ranked MSU-Moorhead 66-53

MOORHEAD, Minn. -  The Michigan Tech women's basketball team recorded another road victory to start the 2017-18 season, this time defeating 19th ranked Minnesota State Moorhead Thursday night 66-53. The Huskies took a 33-27 lead with an 8-0 run to end the second quarter and then outscored the Dragons by six in the third quarter on their way to the victory.

"Obviously we were thrilled to be able to come in and get a win against another good team on their home floor," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kim Cameron said. "We challenged our team to be able to step up and they did. One thing that stands out is that Hannah Stoll has had back to back games where she has guarded and shutdown a conference player of the year. I thought that was a huge part of what we did tonight in taking away Sannes. We are growing and learning each game and I'm really happy for our players."

As expected, it was a tightly contested game throughout the first quarter Thursday night. Michigan Tech (3-0) struck first when junior Elizabeth Kelliher knocked down a jump shot just outside the paint with just over nine minutes to go in the first quarter. Minnesota State Moorhead (0-1) then reeled off five straight points to grab a 5-2 edge on a triple by Drew Sannes and a layup courtesy of Megan Hintz.

The Huskies though came storming back with a jumper from senior Brenna Heise and a three-point bucket by senior Lindsay Winter to make it 6-5 with 6:12 showing on the clock. The largest lead for either side in the first was a 14-11 advantage by the Dragons at the 3:38 mark. The Huskies eventually slipped back in front 19-17 right before the end of the quarter on a trey by junior Michelle LaFave, who would go on to record a career high 14 points.

The teams continued to trade baskets for the first seven plus minutes of the second quarter until the late scoring burst by the Huskies. Trailing MSU-Moorhead 27-25 with 2:26 to play until halftime, Tech began what turned into the pivotal 8-0 run. Winter hit the first bucket when she found the target from behind the arc to make it 28-27. Before time had expired in the second quarter, senior Kelli Guy contributed three points and LaFave chipped in two more to give the Huskies a 33-27 lead at halftime.

Michigan Tech kept the Dragons at arm's length throughout the third quarter, but could never pull completely away. However, the Huskies were able to create some more separation as time went by. Tech's first double digit lead came with 3:21 to go in the third when Winter connected again from three-point land to make it a 47-37 score. With 51 second left on the third quarter clock, the lead grew to 53-41 thanks to a Winter layup.

In the fourth period, MSU-Moorhead cut the gap to seven points on a couple of occasions, but each time the Huskies had an answer. LaFave came up big for Tech down the stretch with three straight field goals in the final two minutes to keep the Dragons from engineering a bigger run to get into striking distance.

Winter guided the Huskies in both points and rebounds again Thursday night with 20 points and nine boards. Winter closed the night 8 of 13 from the field and 4 of 5 from behind the three-point arc. She is averaging 18.7 points and 10.7 rebounds per game through the first three contests of 2017-18.

LaFave followed with a career high 14 points and Kelliher connected on 6 of 11 shots from the field on her way to 12 points. Heise chipped in eight points, grabbed four rebounds, blocked two shots, and had two steals. Senior Hannah Stoll finished with seven points and created havoc for the Dragons offense with her performance on defense. Guy led the Huskies in assists with five and picked up seven rebounds.

As a team, Tech was 29 of 60 from the field (48.3%), 7 of 17 from three-point range (41.2%), and 1 for 4 at the free throw line (25.0%). The Huskies outscored MSU-Moorhead in every quarter and controlled the paint with a 26-18 edge in points in the paint.

Megan Hintz led the Dragons with 20 points and five rebounds followed by Jacky Volkert with 14 points. Sannes reeled in a game high 11 rebounds, but was limited offensively to just six points. As a team, MSU-Moorhead made just 17 of 53 shots from the field (32.1%), were 4 of 17 from behind the arc (23.5%), and 15 of 21 at the free throw line (71.4%). The Dragons did have a slight edge in rebounds at 37-34.

The win at No. 19 MSU-Moorhead Thursday night was the first over a WBCA NCAA Division II Top 25 ranked team by the Huskies since December 13th, 2014. That day Tech prevailed over 8th ranked Wayne State 68-55.

The Huskies will be back on the court Friday night when they travel to Minnesota-Crookston for another non-conference contest. The tip-off is scheduled for 7 p.m. EST.