No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
6:00 PM
St. Norbert
Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Eastern Mich.
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
5:00 PM
Ursuline
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich. (Ferris State Invitational)
Sat Nov 10
1:00 PM
Davis & Elkins
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich. (Ferris State Invitational)
Fri Nov 16
6:00 PM
MSU-Moorhead
Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
1:00 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, Ind. (USI Tournament)
Sun Nov 25
3:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Southern Indiana
Thu Nov 29
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
5:30 PM
Parkside
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
1:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
4:00 PM
Lewis
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
5:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
1:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Outrun Northwood 81-54 Saturday Afternoon

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team closed the first week of Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference contests with an impressive 81-54 at home in the SDC against Northwood University. The Huskies used a 12-2 run in the first quarter to set the tone and never trailed on their way to their eighth overall victory and second in the conference.

"I am really proud of our team and our effort in today's game," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kim Cameron said. "We focused on our defense this week and I thought the team really took pride in making Northwood have to earn their baskets. Our entire team did a great job of defending some really good offensive players.

"It's really fun to see our team playing so well offensively and defensively and to see our players feel and feed off of that success. Being able to sustain that level of play for the 40 minutes is the challenge that we are working on right now, but to play as well as we are capable of at home feels really good. We put together two really good defensive games and I'm proud of that. We are going to be tested again next week, but hopefully we are headed in the right direction."

Michigan Tech (8-1, 2-0 GLIAC) reeled off seven straight points to open the contest, with junior Elizabeth Kelliher collecting the first two on a layup in the first minute. Kelliher then blocked her first of six total shots which setup a triple by senior Kelli Guy to make it 5-0. Kelliher then worked her way into the paint for another layup to extend the lead to 7-0 with just over eight minutes remaining in the first quarter.

Maddy Seely put Northwood (4-3, 1-1 GLIAC) on the board for the first time with a jumper at the 7:18 mark, but the Huskies earned the next five points on a layup from Kelliher and three-point shot from Guy. Tech went ahead by as many as 13 points at 26-13 in the first quarter after a trey by sophomore Hannah Hobson found the target with 39 seconds on the clock.

Michigan Tech kept things rolling into the second quarter and continued to create more separation from the Timberwolves. About midway through the second quarter, Guy connected on her third three-pointer of the afternoon to give the Huskies a 20-point advantage at 39-19. Northwood drew to within 17 points at 48-31 with 55 seconds remaining in the half on a layup from Karli Herrington, but senior Brenna Heise dropped in a layup just before the buzzer to bump Tech's lead back up to 50-31 going into the break.

The Timberwolves chopped three points off of their deficit by the end of the third quarter when Seeley closed the period with a layup to make it 64-48. However, the Huskies would erase any thought of a comeback by Northwood at the start of the fourth. Tech engineered an 8-0 scoring burst courtesy of layups by Hobson, senior Hanna Stoll, and sophomore Abbie Botz to make it a 72-48 score with 6:12 left in the contest. The Huskies boosted their lead to 29 points at 81-52 on free throws by sophomore Ellie Welsh with just under two minutes to go, which proved to be the biggest gap of the night.

The Huskies had three players with double digit point totals Saturday, led by Guy with 15 points. Kelliher was 5 of 7 from the field and ended the afternoon with 13 points and a season high six blocked shots in addition to five rebounds. Heise tacked on 13 points and hauled down a team high six rebounds. Senior Lindsay Winter chipped in with five points and dished out a career best nine assists. In total, 12 different Tech players had at least two points in the victory.

The Huskies knocked down 31 of 57 shots from the field (54.4%), were 8 of 16 from three-point land (50.0%), and 11 of 15 at the free throw line (73.3%). Tech dominated the paint by scoring 42 points from point blank range while holding a sizeable advantage in rebounding 37-25. As a team, the Huskies also dealt out 18 assists.

Seeley and Herrington ended the afternoon with a team high 14 points for Northwood while Tech's defense limited Lindsay Orwat to 10 points. Herrington just missed a double-double by pulling down a game high nine rebounds. The Timberwolves converted just 14 of 47 total shot attempts from the field, were 3 of 12 from behind the arc (25.0%), and 23 of 28 at the free throw line (82.1%).

Michigan Tech goes back on the road next week to battle Grand Valley State and Purdue Northwest in GLIAC matchups. The Huskies will face the Lakers Thursday night at 8 p.m. before taking on the Pride at 2 p.m. Saturday.