No Event
No Event
Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
6:00 PM
St. Norbert
Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Eastern Mich.
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
5:00 PM
Ursuline
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich. (Ferris State Invitational)
Sat Nov 10
1:00 PM
Davis & Elkins
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich. (Ferris State Invitational)
Fri Nov 16
6:00 PM
MSU-Moorhead
Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
1:00 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, Ind. (USI Tournament)
Sun Nov 25
3:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Southern Indiana
Thu Nov 29
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
5:30 PM
Parkside
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
1:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
4:00 PM
Lewis
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
5:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
1:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Hold Off Northwood 86-81 Saturday Afternoon

Huskies Hold Off Northwood 86-81 Saturday Afternoon

MIDLAND, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team withstood a fourth quarter charge by Northwood, holding on for an 86-81 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference victory Saturday afternoon on the road. It was the sixth consecutive win for the Huskies as they head home for the final four regular season games the next two weeks.

"It was another great win on the road for us today against a very good team in Northwood," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kim Cameron said. "It's been a tough week with Lindsay [Winter] out due to injury and we had to make some adjustments with her out of the lineup. I'm proud of our team for stepping up as multiple players contributed big plays both offensively and defensively. Our bench gave us a big lift not only today, but in Thursday's game as well and we'll need them to keep doing that down the stretch. We are excited about getting home next week for two more key conference games against Ferris State and Lake Superior State."

Michigan Tech (20-3, 14-2 GLIAC) and Northwood (14-8, 10-6 GLIAC) played a nearly even first quarter with both sides taking turns owning the lead. The Huskies got the upper had to start the contest and led 10-5 through the first three minutes following a layup by senior Hannah Stoll. The Timberwolves countered with the next seven points to go up 12-10 and from there neither team led by more than two points the rest of the quarter. Karli Harrington recorded the final basket of the opening 10-minute period for Northwood, making it a 20-19 score in favor of the Timberwolves.

Trailing 25-23 two minutes into the second quarter, the Huskies grabbed the momentum thanks to a 14-2 scoring run over the next five minutes. Freshman Cassidy Trotter tied the score on a layup followed by a triple courtesy of junior Michelle LaFave. Senior Kelli Guy eventually dialed in a trey with 3:11 on the clock to cap the run and give the Huskies their first double digit lead at 37-27. Tech eventually carried a 43-35 advantage into the locker room at halftime.

Michigan Tech controlled the third quarter and it carried into the early stages of the fourth quarter. The Huskies outscored the Timberwolves 23-10 in the period and opened up a 21-point lead by the time the buzzer sounded. Trotter got to the basket for a layup for the final points of the period, making the score 66-45 through 30 minutes.

Junior Elizabeth Kelliher went right to the rim on the opening possession of the fourth quarter where she cashed in a layup and got fouled for an opportunity at a three-point play. Kelliher was able to convert and it gave the Huskies their largest lead of the afternoon at 69-45 with 9:43 on the clock. However, the Timberwolves would not go quietly on their home floor.

Northwood made 13 of 16 field goals and went 8 for 8 at the free throw line to storm all the way back within three points in the last minute. Lindsay Orwat cut Northwood's deficit to four points at 79-75 with 1:13 to play and then Maddy Seely dropped in a layup with 18 seconds to go to make it 82-79. The Huskies kept Northwood from gaining any more ground thanks to some crucial free throw shooting. Guy delivered six free throws in the final minute, including the final two with just under seven seconds to play to seal the 86-81 win. Trotter also had a key free throw make during that stretch as well.

Six Tech players had 11 or more points in Saturday's game, led by Stoll with 16 points and five assists. Heise followed with 15 points and six rebounds, sophomore Hannah Hobson fired in a career high 13 points, Guy had 12 points, Kelliher chipped in 11 points, and Trotter rounded out the double digit scorers with a career best 11 points, six rebounds, and four assists. Senior Sarah LewAllen matched Stoll with five assists.

As a team, the Huskies connected on 35 of 61 shots from the field (57.4%), were 7 of 18 from three-point range (38.9%), and 9 of 11 at the free throw line (81.8%). Tech's defense forced 14 turnovers which led to 19 points on the offensive end of the floor. The Huskies bench outscored Northwood 29-22.

Orwat and Seeley powered the Timberwolves with 23 points apiece followed by Herrington with 16 points. Taylor Craymer was the top rebounder with seven boards for Northwood. The Timberwolves were on target with 29 of 53 shots from the field (54.7%), 6 of 18 from three-point range (33.3%), and 17 of 20 at the free throw line (85.0%). They also had a slight edge in rebounding at 27-25.

The Huskies return home on Thursday to begin a four game home stand against Ferris State in the SDC Gym. Tech topped the Bulldogs 80-77 on the road January 11th in the first meeting of the season. Thursday's tip-off is scheduled for 5:30 p.m.