Thu Nov 02
Final
49 Michigan Tech
87 at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Nov 10
Final
48 Davis & Elkins
65 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Pepper Pike, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
Final
81 Michigan Tech
67 at Ursuline
Thu Nov 16
Final
66 Michigan Tech
53 at MSU-Moorhead
Fri Nov 17
Final
68 Michigan Tech
52 at Minnesota Crookston
Mon Nov 20
Final - OT
70 Minnesota Duluth
79 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 24
Final
82 Michigan Tech
95 vs. Augustana (S.D.)
@ St. Paul, MN (Gangelhoff Center)
Sat Nov 25
Final
83 Michigan Tech
76 at Concordia-St. Paul
Thu Nov 30
Final
37 Saginaw Valley State
59 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
54 Northwood
81 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final - OT
85 Michigan Tech
81 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
86 Michigan Tech
40 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
56 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 04
Final
103 Ashland
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
42 Tiffin
79 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
80 Michigan Tech
77 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
77 Michigan Tech
47 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
40 Michigan Tech
50 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
82 Michigan Tech
54 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
54 Northern Michigan
61 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
61 Grand Valley State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 03
Final
38 Purdue Northwest
64 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final
71 Michigan Tech
43 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
86 Michigan Tech
81 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final
63 Ferris State
80 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
65 Lake Superior State
75 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final
71 Wayne State
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final
44 Davenport
60 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
67 Ferris State
57 Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 09
Final
75 Grand Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Kates Gymnasium - Ashland, Ohio Midwest Region Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 27
Final
28 St. Norbert
67 Michigan Tech
Exhibition
Thu Nov 01
Final
66 Michigan Tech
61 at Eastern Michigan
Exhibition
Fri Nov 09
Final
65 Ursuline
96 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Sat Nov 10
Final
39 Davis & Elkins
75 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Big Rapids, Mich.
Fri Nov 16
Final
48 MSU-Moorhead
59 Michigan Tech
Sun Nov 18
Final - OT
72 Minnesota State
68 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
60 Michigan Tech
73 vs. Bellarmine
@ Evansville, IN (PAC) USI Thanksgiving Classic
Sun Nov 25
Final
65 Michigan Tech
80 at Southern Indiana
USI Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
68 Michigan Tech
57 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
62 Parkside
40 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
54 Purdue Northwest
79 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
4:00 PM
Lewis
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
5:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
1:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
5:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
5:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
5:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
View Full Schedule

Huskies Shutdown MSU-Moorhead 59-48

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's basketball team won for the third straight time to begin the season Friday night, defeating a very good Minnesota State-Moorhead team in the home opener 59-48 in the SDC Gym. The Huskies' defense shut down the Dragons attack and never let them get into a rhythm, holding them to a 30.5 percent success rate on field goals.

"It was a really good win for us because they are a phenomenal team," Michigan Tech Head Coach Sam Hoyt said. "I think it came down to our toughness on the defensive end, which is going to be a huge key for us all year long. We executed our game plan well and limited their post touches as much as we could. We probably gave up too many offensive rebounds, but against this team we knew they were going to crash the boards pretty hard so we made a good effort to try and keep them off the glass."

Michigan Tech (3-0) took the lead in the opening 15 seconds of the game when junior Baillie McGirk found senior Elizabeth Kelliher under the basket for a 2-0 edge. The Huskies and MSU-Moorhead (2-1) then had their troubles offensively for roughly the next three minutes as neither side found the target. Kelliher cashed in another layup to make 4-0 Tech with 7:14 left in the first before the Dragons got their initial bucket on a layup by Madi Green a few seconds later.

Tech then pushed the gap to 10-2 on layups from junior Abbie Botz, McGirk, and freshman Jordan Ludescher and maintained an eight-point advantage at 16-8 going into the second quarter following a jumper from McGirk in the final minute. The Huskies limited Davis & Elkins to single digit point totals in two of the four quarters last Saturday and they picked up right where they left off Friday night against MSU-Moorhead. The Dragons were just 1 for 14 shooting from the floor in the opening period.

The Huskies created a double digit lead for the first time during the beginning minutes of the second quarter. Following an offensive rebound, junior Hannah Hobson found freshman Ellie Mackay opened behind the arc for a triple to make it a 19-8 score. Although the Huskies would never trail in Friday's game, MSU-Moorhead would always remain in striking distance.

The Dragons slowly chipped away at Tech's lead in the second quarter to draw within three points at 23-20 on a Jacky Volkert layup with 3:40 to go until the break. The two teams then traded points on successful free throws by Kelliher and Nicole Brown with just over two minutes remaining on the clock. The Huskies recorded the final point of the half on a Kelliher free throw and thus carried a 26-22 lead into the locker room at halftime.

The Huskies maintained just a two score gap until the 5:53 mark of the third quarter when junior Ellie Welsh dialed in a triple to put Tech up again by seven points at 35-28. Michigan Tech had a strong close to the third quarter, which enabled them to establish the largest lead of the night. Mackay found the mark from three-point land with 2:55 to play in the third and followed it up with a successful free throw attempt for a 42-30 Huskies advantage with 2:34 remaining in the third.

The Dragons sliced their deficit down to nine points at 44-35 on a triple from Kiley Borowicz to end the third period, but the Huskies bumped it back to a 48-36 cushion on two Botz free throws with 7:59 left in the fourth. The Dragons then engineered a 9-0 scoring burst in a bid to overtake Tech late. Volkert made it a 48-45 score on a layup with just over four minutes still remaining on the fourth quarter clock.

However, the Huskies defense came up with some big stops and had help from the offense on some key free throws and buckets mixed in to halt the Dragons momentum. Hobson answered Volkert's layup with two free throws followed by two stops on defense via a turnover and rebound off a missed MSU-Moorhead shot.

Leading 50-45 with less than three minutes to go, Hobson connected from downtown to create an eight-point cushion at 53-45. Trotter and Botz then iced the game away at the free throw line down the stretch, giving the Huskies the 59-48 win.

The Huskies had three players with double digit point totals, led by Kelliher with 13 points and five rebounds. Trotter followed with 11 points and four rebounds while Mackay generated a season high 10 points. Botz was 5 of 6 at the free throw line and chipped in nine points with McGirk and Welsh dealing out three assists apiece. McGirk had a team high six rebounds and added six points.

The Huskies were successful on 19 of 55 shots from the field (34.5%), were 5 of 20 from three-point range (25.0%), and 16 of 22 at the free throw line (72.7%). Tech's defense forced 23 MSU-Moorhead turnovers which produced 15 points on the offensive end of the floor. Points in the paint were even for both sides at 24-24.

Megan Hintz and Volkert paced the Dragons with 10 points Friday night followed by Brooklyn Liegal with eight points. Hintz had a game high eight rebounds and Volkert distributed four assists. As a team, the Dragons were 18 of 59 from the field (30.5%), 3 of 26 from behind the arc (11.5%), and 9 of 10 at the free throw line (90%). They had the advantage in rebounding 48-32.

The Huskies will be back on the court Sunday afternoon when they host Minnesota State in a non-conference game at the SDC Gym. The tip-off is set for 1 p.m.