Fri Sep 21
7:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 23
12:00 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 30
12:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Fri Oct 05
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sun Oct 07
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Fri Oct 12
5:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 14
12:00 PM
Parkside
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 19
12:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sun Oct 21
12:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Fri Oct 26
5:00 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Senior Day
View Full Schedule

Women's Soccer

Two NCAA Appearances 2012 GLIAC Championship

Soccer Posts Shutout in Final Home Game

Soccer Posts Shutout in Final Home Game

HOUGHTON, Mich. - Alyssa Hynnek scored one goal and added one assist to lead the Michigan Tech soccer team to a 3-0 victory over Saginaw Valley State in its final home game of the season Friday (Oct. 23).

After a scoreless first half, the Huskies were able to get on the scoreboard five minutes into the second half. Alyssa Hynnek threw the ball into McKenzie Hengesh who turned and fired a long chip shot over the head of SVSU goalie Laura Ivezaj.

Hynnek then found the net herself in the 59th minute. Melanie Hoffman sent a centering pass to Hynnek who buried a shot for her fifth goal of the season.

MacKenzie Jordon sent a long pass from the Huskies defensive end to Eva Vrana who scored on a breakaway in the match's final minutes.

"We were able to control the ball a lot more in the second half," said head coach Michelle Jacob. "This allowed us to create quality scoring chances and limit the chances by Saginaw."

MaryBeth Spoehr recorded five saves in her second shutout of the season. Laura Ivezaj finished with six saves for the Cardinals.

Tech finished with a 20-14 advantage in shots.

Tech will play its final match of the regular season at Northern Michigan Friday (Oct. 28).