Fri Sep 01
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Winona State
Sun Sep 03
TBA
Michigan Tech
at St. Cloud State
Fri Sep 08
5:00 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 10
12:00 PM
Minnesota Duluth
Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 15
7:00 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 17
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 22
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sun Sep 24
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Fri Sep 29
12:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sun Oct 01
12:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sun Oct 08
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Fri Oct 13
7:00 PM
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 15
12:00 PM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 20
4:00 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 22
12:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Women's Soccer

Two NCAA Appearances 2012 GLIAC Championship

Huskies Handle Saginaw Valley 2-1

Huskies Handle Saginaw Valley 2-1

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech soccer team received a pair of second half goals from senior Katie Boardman en route to a 2-1 victory over Saginaw Valley State today at Sherman Field. 

"We came out much better in the second half," said head coach Michelle Jacob. "We were able to possess the ball more, move it quickly, find feet with the intent of moving forward and create a lot more shots."

Saginaw Valley recorded the only goal of the first half when Marci Northuis put home a header with 8:10 remaining on the clock.

Michigan Tech evened the contest less than two minutes after intermission, as Lindsey Van Rooy found a seam and fed the ball to Boardman, who worked between two defenders before putting a shot past Saginaw Valley goalkeeper Kailey Naumcheff for her third goal of the season.

MTU's MacKenzie Jordon was awarded a penalty kick five minutes later after a Saginaw Valley handball, but her attempt rang off the crossbar. 

Boardman added her second of the match with 21 minutes remaining, floating a kick over Naumcheff's outstretched arms and into the top right corner.

Tech held a 16-11 advantage in shots, including a 11-6 margin in shots on goal. MTU goalkeeper Jenna Phelps made saves on six of the seven shots she faced during the match. 

Michigan Tech (7-2-1 overall, 4-0-1 GLIAC) returns to action on Sunday when the squad hosts Northwood at noon.