Fri Sep 30
7:00 PM
Findlay
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 02
12:00 PM
Ohio Dominican
Michigan Tech
Let's Kick Cancer Game
Fri Oct 07
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sun Oct 09
12:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Fri Oct 14
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Erie
Sun Oct 16
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Walsh
Fri Oct 21
5:00 PM
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 23
12:00 PM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 28
5:00 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Tue Nov 01
TBA
Michigan Tech
at GLIAC Quarterfinals
Fri Nov 04
TBA
Michigan Tech
at GLIAC Semifinals
Sun Nov 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
at GLIAC Championship
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Women's Soccer

Two NCAA Appearances 2012 GLIAC Championship

Huskies Handle Saginaw Valley 2-1

Huskies Handle Saginaw Valley 2-1

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech soccer team received a pair of second half goals from senior Katie Boardman en route to a 2-1 victory over Saginaw Valley State today at Sherman Field. 

"We came out much better in the second half," said head coach Michelle Jacob. "We were able to possess the ball more, move it quickly, find feet with the intent of moving forward and create a lot more shots."

Saginaw Valley recorded the only goal of the first half when Marci Northuis put home a header with 8:10 remaining on the clock.

Michigan Tech evened the contest less than two minutes after intermission, as Lindsey Van Rooy found a seam and fed the ball to Boardman, who worked between two defenders before putting a shot past Saginaw Valley goalkeeper Kailey Naumcheff for her third goal of the season.

MTU's MacKenzie Jordon was awarded a penalty kick five minutes later after a Saginaw Valley handball, but her attempt rang off the crossbar. 

Boardman added her second of the match with 21 minutes remaining, floating a kick over Naumcheff's outstretched arms and into the top right corner.

Tech held a 16-11 advantage in shots, including a 11-6 margin in shots on goal. MTU goalkeeper Jenna Phelps made saves on six of the seven shots she faced during the match. 

Michigan Tech (7-2-1 overall, 4-0-1 GLIAC) returns to action on Sunday when the squad hosts Northwood at noon.