Fri Sep 01
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Winona State
Sun Sep 03
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at St. Cloud State
Fri Sep 08
5:00 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 10
12:00 PM
Minnesota Duluth
Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 15
7:00 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 17
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 22
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sun Sep 24
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Fri Sep 29
12:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sun Oct 01
12:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sun Oct 08
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Fri Oct 13
7:00 PM
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 15
12:00 PM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 20
4:00 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 22
12:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Women's Soccer

Two NCAA Appearances 2012 GLIAC Championship

Soccer Ends Road Trip with 4-1 Win at ODU

Soccer Ends Road Trip with 4-1 Win at ODU

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Michigan Tech women's soccer bounced back from its first conference loss of the season with a 4-1 victory at Ohio Dominican today. The game was tied 1-all at half before the Huskies tallied three second-half goals to move to 9-3-1 overall and 6-1-1 in the GLIAC. ODU is 8-5-2 overall and 5-4-1 in the league.

Tech got on the board first with a breakaway from Alyssa Hynnek, who beat two defenders before finishing one-on-one with the Panther keeper.

The lead lasted just six minutes. Madison Baldwin's shot from 10 yards out beat Jenna Phelps. The ODU goal came just 21 seconds before half, and the teams went to the intermission tied at 1.

Tech came out of the break aggressively, but it didn't pay off immediately.

The score remained knotted until Jacqueline Mielke's unassisted goal in the 69th minute. Similar to Hynnek's goal, Mielke beat a defender and finished to the near post.

Katie Boardman scored twice in a 90-second span late in the half to account for the final score. Haley Crites fed a ball into space for Boardman on the first of the two. The second was a crossing attempt by the senior that bounced over the keeper and into the goal.

"We played well in the second half," said head coach Michelle Jacob. "I think our pressure really got to them and gave us momentum.

"We were coming off a tough overtime loss on Friday, and we gave up a late goal in the first half. I'm proud of how the ladies came out in the second half to earn the win."

Phelps made three saves in net including a key stop right after halftime to earn her sixth win of the season. Tech held a 17-8 shot advantage including an 11-5 lead after intermission.

Michigan Tech will play its final two regular season home games at Sherman Field next weekend. Friday's (Oct. 25) game pits the Huskies against GLIAC-leading Grand Valley State at 7 p.m.