Fri Sep 01
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Winona State
Sun Sep 03
TBA
Michigan Tech
at St. Cloud State
Fri Sep 08
5:00 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 10
12:00 PM
Minnesota Duluth
Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 15
7:00 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 17
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 22
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sun Sep 24
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Fri Sep 29
12:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sun Oct 01
12:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sun Oct 08
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Fri Oct 13
7:00 PM
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 15
12:00 PM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 20
4:00 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 22
12:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Women's Soccer

Two NCAA Appearances 2012 GLIAC Championship

Soccer Falls to Top-Ranked Grand Valley on Friday

Soccer Falls to Top-Ranked Grand Valley on Friday

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech soccer team went toe-to-toe with No 1-ranked Grand Valley State on Friday (Oct. 25) night, falling 2-1 at Sherman Field. The visitors scored two goals in the first half and Tech scored its lone goal 10 minutes into the second half in the GLIAC game.

Danna Kasom's second half goal was the first goal the Lakers surrendered all season. She blasted a shot from 13 yards out that squeaked between the GVSU goalkeeper's legs. Katie Boardman assisted on Kasom's first of the season.

Tech falls to 9-4-1 overall and 6-2-1 in the GLIAC. GVSU remains unbeaten at 13-0-1 overall and 10-0 in conference play.

"The girls did a fantastic job tonight," Tech coach Michelle Jacob said. "I think that we put everything out on the field that we had.

"We didn't play scared. We attacked them and went after them. I'm very please with the outcome and happy to be the first team to score a goal against them all season. We hung with them the entire time."

The Lakers opened the game's scoring 3:19 into the game on a goal by Jenny Shaba. Marti Corby assisted on Shaba's ninth of the season.

Charlie Socia added to the lead 25:21 into the game with her ninth of the season from Shaba.

Jenna Phelps had 10 saves for the Huskies while Abbey Miller stopped four Tech shots for the Lakers.

375 fans came out to support the team on a cold night with a few snowflakes in the air.

"We have such a unique and wonderful area here," said Jacob. "The people that are in this community and go to this university are just wonderful. When we started to get momentum in the second half and hearing the crowd cheering and wanting us to score really gave us a boost. We're fortunate to be able to play in front of them."

Tech hosts Ferris State on Sunday (Oct. 27) to wrap-up the home portion of the 2013 schedule. The Bulldogs tied 1-1 with Northern Michigan on Friday in Marquette. Tech's 10 seniors will be honored before the game.

"Ferris is a good team and we're gong to have to step up again," added Jacob. "We just need to keep fine tuning the things we always do and minimize turnovers. We need to carry over our speed of play from today and we want to go at them and get a victory."