Fri Sep 01
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Winona State
Sun Sep 03
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at St. Cloud State
Fri Sep 08
5:00 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 10
12:00 PM
Minnesota Duluth
Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 15
7:00 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 17
12:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 22
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sun Sep 24
11:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Fri Sep 29
12:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sun Oct 01
12:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sun Oct 08
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Fri Oct 13
7:00 PM
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 15
12:00 PM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 20
4:00 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 22
12:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Women's Soccer

Two NCAA Appearances 2012 GLIAC Championship

Soccer Earns First NCAA Tournament Bid

Soccer Earns First NCAA Tournament Bid

HOUGHTON, Mich. – For the first time in its four-year history, the Michigan Tech soccer team earned a bid to the NCAA Tournament. The Huskies are the No. 6 seed in the Midwest Region and will travel to Quincy, Ill. to play No. 3 seeded UW-Parkside at 7 p.m. on Friday (Nov. 15).

"We are deeply honored and tremendously excited to be selected to the NCAA Tournament," Tech soccer coach Michelle Jacob said. "For our program to be recognized at this level, in only our 4th year of existence, is an incredible accomplishment!"

Tech finished the regular season 12-4-1 overall and second in the GLIAC at 9-2-1. The Huskies defeated Saginaw Valley State in the GLIAC quarterfinal and Ashland in the semifinal before bowing out to top-ranked Grand Valley State in the conference championship game on Sunday (Nov. 10). Tech rode a five-game winning streak into the championship game.

"The staff and the team have built this program from the ground up based on character, hard work and commitment in order for our team to be capable of competing at the national level," Jacob added. "Earning this first selection into the NCAA Tournament is a fitting reward for all that hard work!"

The Huskies and Rangers met in the second game of the season on Sept 7 with Parkside winning 5-1.

The team watched the selection show at Huskies Night Out on Monday (Nov. 11) evening at the Mine Shaft Rock House Grille.

"We are filled with gratitude for the support shown by Michigan Tech, the surrounding community and the parents, families and friends associated with our program," said Jacob. "All of you have made a difference for us and we happily share this exciting moment with each and every one of you."

Other teams in the Midwest Region are Grand Valley State (1), Quincy (2), Truman (4) and Rockhurst (5).