No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 09
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Sep 10
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Grand Valley State
Sat Sep 17
Final
1 Ashland
8 Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 18
Final
3 Walsh
6 Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Oct 01
Final
8 Northwood
1 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 02
Final
6 Saginaw Valley State
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 07
Final
6 Michigan Tech
3 at Hillsdale
Sat Oct 08
Final
4 Michigan Tech
5 at Wayne State
Sat Oct 15
Final
7 Tiffin
2 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 16
Final
0 Findlay
9 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 22
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Lake Superior State
Fri Oct 28
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Tiffin
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 29
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Wayne State
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Consolation Bracket
Sun Oct 30
Final
5 Hillsdale
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - 7th Place Match
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Grand Valley Tops Tech 6-3 in Women's Tennis

Grand Valley Tops Tech 6-3 in Women's Tennis

HOUGHTON, Mich. — Michigan Tech succeeded at the top of the lineup but struggled at the bottom in a 6-3 GLIAC women's tennis loss to Grand Valley State at Gates Tennis Center today. The visiting Lakers improved to 6-1 overall and 6-1 in league play while the Huskies fell to 6-5 overall and 3-5 in GLIAC action.

Tech's three team points came at No. 1 doubles and Nos. 1 and 2 singles. Natalia Lebedeva was involved in two of those three wins. She paired with Dunja Imran Al-Sous for an 8-4 victory in doubles. She then turned in a convincing 6-3, 6-1 at No. 1 singles.

Kwang Suthijindawong continued her perfect singles season with a 6-3, 6-0 victory at No. 2.

Grand Valley State won all the other flights in straight sets. The closest of those was at No. 3 singles, where Lexi Rice defeated Kira Eck 6-4, 6-3.

Michigan Tech, which won its first six matches of the season, will try to stop a five-match skid with three matches next weekend. The first of the three is at Hillsdale Friday (Oct. 5) at 4 p.m.