No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 09
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Sep 10
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Grand Valley State
Sat Sep 17
Final
1 Ashland
8 Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 18
Final
3 Walsh
6 Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Oct 01
Final
8 Northwood
1 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 02
Final
6 Saginaw Valley State
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 07
Final
6 Michigan Tech
3 at Hillsdale
Sat Oct 08
Final
4 Michigan Tech
5 at Wayne State
Sat Oct 15
Final
7 Tiffin
2 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 16
Final
0 Findlay
9 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 22
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Lake Superior State
Fri Oct 28
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Tiffin
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 29
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Wayne State
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Consolation Bracket
Sun Oct 30
Final
5 Hillsdale
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - 7th Place Match
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Tech Falls to Hillsdale in Marathon Tennis Match

Tech Falls to Hillsdale in Marathon Tennis Match

TOLEDO, Ohio — Michigan Tech, playing without the services of its undefeated No. 2 singles player Kwang Suthijindawong (injury), fell at Hillsdale 6-3 in GLIAC women's tennis Friday. The Huskies not only played shorthanded, but battled a two-hour rain delay and change of venue in the match.

Tech trailed 4-3 at Hillsdale's on-campus outdoor courts when rain hit, forcing the match to be moved to an indoor facility in Toledo. The host Chargers won each of the final two matches including a 4-6, 7-6 (4), 6-3 victory by Brittany Parks over Natalia Lebedeva at No. 1 singles. The No. 4 singles match was also decided indoors, with Hillsdale's Lindsay Pierce defeating Erika Tenizbaeva 6-2, 6-3.

"It was a long day," said head coach Kevin Kalinec. "We obviously missed having Kwang, but still had our chances to win the match."

Suthijindawong, who is 11-0 in singles and 9-2 in doubles in 2012-13, did not make the trip because of injury.

In a reverse of the norm so far this season, Michigan Tech's team points came from the bottom of its lineup. The No. 3 doubles duo of Kira Eck and Chelsea Uganski earned a 9-7 victory at No. 3 doubles. Uganski also won at No. 5 singles 7-5, 6-2. Dujna Imran Al-Sous posted a 6-3, 6-1 triumph at No. 6 singles.

Michigan Tech (6-6, 3-6 GLIAC) will have a quick turnaround to its match at Findlay today (Oct. 6), which has been rescheduled to start at 1 p.m.