No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 09
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Sep 10
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Grand Valley State
Sat Sep 17
Final
1 Ashland
8 Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 18
Final
3 Walsh
6 Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Oct 01
Final
8 Northwood
1 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 02
Final
6 Saginaw Valley State
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 07
Final
6 Michigan Tech
3 at Hillsdale
Sat Oct 08
Final
4 Michigan Tech
5 at Wayne State
Sat Oct 15
Final
7 Tiffin
2 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 16
Final
0 Findlay
9 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 22
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Lake Superior State
Fri Oct 28
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Tiffin
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 29
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Wayne State
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Consolation Bracket
Sun Oct 30
Final
5 Hillsdale
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - 7th Place Match
Sat Mar 04
Final
0 Salem International University
9 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Sun Mar 05
Final
2 Catawba
7 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head Island, S.C. Hilton Head, S.C.
Mon Mar 06
Final
7 Michigan Tech
2 vs. Davis & Elkins
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Tue Mar 07
Final
3 Chowan
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Thu Mar 09
Final
5 Palm Beach Atl.
4 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Fri Sep 08
Final
7 Michigan Tech
2 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Dearborn, Mich.
Sun Sep 10
Final
8 Michigan Tech
1 at Lawrence Tech
Fri Sep 15
Final
8 Michigan Tech
1 at Ashland
Sat Sep 16
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Tiffin
Sun Sep 17
Final
3 Michigan Tech
6 at Wayne State
Fri Sep 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sat Sep 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sun Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sat Sep 30
10:00 AM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 01
10:00 AM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Oct 07
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Oct 14
10:00 AM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 15
10:00 AM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Fri Oct 27
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sat Oct 28
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sun Oct 29
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Fri Mar 09
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Spring Tennis Fest (Mar. 9-17)
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Women’s Tennis Defeats Ferris State to Open Season

Women’s Tennis Defeats Ferris State to Open Season

BIG RAPIDS, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's tennis team kicked off its 2016 season with a 5-4 victory over Ferris State on Friday (Sept. 9) afternoon. The Huskies won 2-of-3 doubles matches and 3-of-6 singles.

"It was a marathon match today that went almost six hours," Tech coach Kevin Kalinec said. "I was a little nervous about playing outdoors, but we responded well. Our freshmen surprised me a bit and really settled in to their matches to pick up some key wins."

Kwang Suthijindawong returned to the lineup after sitting out last season with a wrist injury, winning both of her matches. She once again teamed up with Sandra Cvetanovic taking their No. 1 doubles match 8-5. In singles, Suthijindawong kept her GLIAC unbeaten streak alive with a pair of 6-1 wins over FSU's No. 1 Teodora Stefanovic.

"Kwang didn't have a great preseason, but she really turned it on when it mattered most today and took down a Division I transfer," Kalinec added. "It's great to have her back so that everyone bumps down in our lineup and can play in their correct positions."

Vicky Quinde and Anabella Neri also picked up a win in doubles in the No. 3 position, winning 8-2 in their first match together.

In her first appearance as a Husky, Paola Quintana won 6-4, 6-1 at No. 2 singles. Natalia Parra Alvarez was the third Tech player to win her singles match, beating her opponent in three (7-6, 5-7, 6-3) in the No. 6 slot to clinch the victory for the Black and Gold.

Tech continues its opening weekend at Grand Valley State on Saturday (Sept. 10) at 10 a.m.