No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 09
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Sep 10
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Grand Valley State
Sat Sep 17
Final
1 Ashland
8 Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 18
Final
3 Walsh
6 Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Oct 01
Final
8 Northwood
1 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 02
Final
6 Saginaw Valley State
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 07
Final
6 Michigan Tech
3 at Hillsdale
Sat Oct 08
Final
4 Michigan Tech
5 at Wayne State
Sat Oct 15
Final
7 Tiffin
2 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 16
Final
0 Findlay
9 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 22
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Lake Superior State
Fri Oct 28
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Tiffin
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 29
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Wayne State
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Consolation Bracket
Sun Oct 30
Final
5 Hillsdale
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - 7th Place Match
Sat Mar 04
Final
0 Salem International University
9 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Sun Mar 05
Final
2 Catawba
7 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head Island, S.C. Hilton Head, S.C.
Mon Mar 06
Final
7 Michigan Tech
2 vs. Davis & Elkins
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Tue Mar 07
Final
3 Chowan
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Thu Mar 09
Final
5 Palm Beach Atl.
4 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Fri Sep 08
Final
7 Michigan Tech
2 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Dearborn, Mich.
Sun Sep 10
Final
8 Michigan Tech
1 at Lawrence Tech
Fri Sep 15
Final
8 Michigan Tech
1 at Ashland
Sat Sep 16
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Tiffin
Sun Sep 17
Final
3 Michigan Tech
6 at Wayne State
Fri Sep 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sat Sep 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sun Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sat Sep 30
Final
5 Saginaw Valley State
4 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 01
Final
7 Northwood
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Grand Valley State
Sat Oct 07
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Oct 14
Final
0 Davenport
9 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 15
Final
0 Purdue Northwest
9 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
6 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Wayne State
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Ferris State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center GLIAC Tournament - Consolation Bracket
Sun Oct 29
Final
0 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Saginaw Valley State
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center GLIAC Tournament - Fifth Place Match
Fri Mar 09
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Spring Tennis Fest (Mar. 9-17)
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Hold Off Ferris State for 5-4 Win

Huskies Hold Off Ferris State for 5-4 Win

BIG RAPIDS, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's tennis team edged Ferris State University 5-4 on the Saturday in a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference match to close the weekend. The Huskies rallied from a 2-1 deficit following doubles competition to take four of six points in singles to grab the win.

"This was a great win for our team today and good way to close the weekend," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Kalinec said. "We were a little shorthanded today due to an injury and everyone did a great job of stepping up for us. The final outcome came down to Natalia's (Parra Alvarez) match in the No.5 spot and she came through with the fifth point. She made some big shots down the stretch and continued to battle to the end."

Michigan Tech's (4-5, 2-5 GLIAC) lone point in doubles competition was secured when Annabella Neri and Allenca Rolim teamed up to top Arien Kissinger and Teodora Stefanovic 8-4 in No. 3 doubles. Sandra Cvetanovic along with Natalia Parra Alvarez took Nicole Meylor and Lauren Lomax down to the wire in number two doubles. Unfortunately, Tech came up just short 9-8 with a tie breaker score of 7-3.

The Huskies roared back in singles competition by getting points in the No. 1, No. 2, No. 5, and No. 6 spots of the lineup. Ivona Gorgioski earned a solid victory in her fourth No. 1 singles contest of season. She pulled away for a 6-0, 6-4 win over Nika Hein.

Cvetanovic had a bit of a closer run against Silvia Verebes, but kept her at bay with final set scores of 6-3, 6-3 Saturday afternoon at the No. 2 position. Alvarez outlasted Kissinger in a thriller in the No. 5 singles spot. Alvarez took home a 7-6 win with a 7-5 tiebreaker in game one and followed that up with a 7-5 win in game two to seal the point and match for the Huskies. Rolim recorded one of her best singles contests of the season by outrunning Fabrizio 6-1, 6-1 for one of the four crucial singles points.

The two additional points that didn't go Tech's way were also very close in Saturday's match. Vicky Quinde came up just short to Meylor 7-5, 6-3 and Neri fell to Lomax 6-1 followed by a very close score of 7-5 in set number two.

The Huskies are back at home next weekend when they host Davenport on Saturday followed by a contest with Purdue Northwest on Sunday in the Gates Tennis Center. The first serve each day is slated for 10 a.m.