No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 09
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Sep 10
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Grand Valley State
Sat Sep 17
Final
1 Ashland
8 Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 18
Final
3 Walsh
6 Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Oct 01
Final
8 Northwood
1 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 02
Final
6 Saginaw Valley State
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 07
Final
6 Michigan Tech
3 at Hillsdale
Sat Oct 08
Final
4 Michigan Tech
5 at Wayne State
Sat Oct 15
Final
7 Tiffin
2 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 16
Final
0 Findlay
9 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 22
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Lake Superior State
Fri Oct 28
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Tiffin
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 29
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Wayne State
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Consolation Bracket
Sun Oct 30
Final
5 Hillsdale
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - 7th Place Match
Sat Mar 04
Final
0 Salem International University
9 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Sun Mar 05
Final
2 Catawba
7 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head Island, S.C. Hilton Head, S.C.
Mon Mar 06
Final
7 Michigan Tech
2 vs. Davis & Elkins
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Tue Mar 07
Final
3 Chowan
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Thu Mar 09
Final
5 Palm Beach Atl.
4 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Fri Sep 08
Final
7 Michigan Tech
2 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Dearborn, Mich.
Sun Sep 10
Final
8 Michigan Tech
1 at Lawrence Tech
Fri Sep 15
Final
8 Michigan Tech
1 at Ashland
Sat Sep 16
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Tiffin
Sun Sep 17
Final
3 Michigan Tech
6 at Wayne State
Fri Sep 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sat Sep 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sun Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sat Sep 30
Final
5 Saginaw Valley State
4 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 01
Final
7 Northwood
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Grand Valley State
Sat Oct 07
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Oct 14
Final
0 Davenport
9 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 15
Final
0 Purdue Northwest
9 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
6 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Wayne State
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Ferris State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center GLIAC Tournament - Consolation Bracket
Sun Oct 29
Final
0 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Saginaw Valley State
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center GLIAC Tournament - Fifth Place Match
Fri Mar 09
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Spring Tennis Fest (Mar. 9-17)
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Slip Past Ferris State 5-3 in GLIAC Consolation Match

Huskies Slip Past Ferris State 5-3 in GLIAC Consolation Match

MIDLAND, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's tennis team edged Ferris State 5-3 in a consolation match at the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Saturday afternoon. The Huskies, who are the No. 6 seed in the tournament, fell in the opener against Wayne State on Friday. Saturday's victory puts Tech in the 5th place match Sunday morning against Saginaw Valley State.

Michigan Tech (8-6) got the upper hand in doubles by securing two of the possible three points to grab a 2-1 lead over Ferris State (4-8). Sandra Cvetanovic and Natalia Parra Alvarez had a solid victory against Nicole Stay and Nicole Meylor, winning the contest by the final of 8-3 in the number spot in the lineup. Anabella Neri and Allenca Rolim picked up the other point by defeating Arien Kissinger and Teodora Stefanovic 8-5 in number three doubles.

The Huskies held off the Bulldogs in singles by getting three of the five decided points in Saturday's match. Alvarez claimed a three set victory over Arien Kissinger in the number six spot with final scores of 6-4, 6-7 (5), 6-1 in the number six spot in the lineup. Paola Quintana defeated Silvia Veredes 6-2, 6-4 in No. 2 singles and Cvetanovic cleared a point for Tech in a thrilling 7-5, 6-7, 6-2 win against Stefanovic in number three singles. Neri's match in the number five spot in the lineup was unfinished since the Huskies reached the five point mark prior to the conclusion.

The result gave the Huskies their second win of the season over Ferris State, having won in Big Rapids 5-4 earlier this month. Michigan Tech will face off against the Cardinals of Saginaw Valley State in the fifth place match Sunday morning at 8:15.

The GLIAC Tournament webpage can be viewed by clicking here.