No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 09
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Sep 10
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Grand Valley State
Sat Sep 17
Final
1 Ashland
8 Michigan Tech
Sun Sep 18
Final
3 Walsh
6 Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
at ITA Regionals (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
Sat Oct 01
Final
8 Northwood
1 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 02
Final
6 Saginaw Valley State
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 07
Final
6 Michigan Tech
3 at Hillsdale
Sat Oct 08
Final
4 Michigan Tech
5 at Wayne State
Sat Oct 15
Final
7 Tiffin
2 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 16
Final
0 Findlay
9 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 22
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Lake Superior State
Fri Oct 28
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Tiffin
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Quarterfinals
Sat Oct 29
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Wayne State
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - Consolation Bracket
Sun Oct 30
Final
5 Hillsdale
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center 2016 GLIAC Tournament - 7th Place Match
Sat Mar 04
Final
0 Salem International University
9 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Sun Mar 05
Final
2 Catawba
7 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head Island, S.C. Hilton Head, S.C.
Mon Mar 06
Final
7 Michigan Tech
2 vs. Davis & Elkins
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Tue Mar 07
Final
3 Chowan
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Thu Mar 09
Final
5 Palm Beach Atl.
4 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Fri Sep 08
Final
7 Michigan Tech
2 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Dearborn, Mich.
Sun Sep 10
Final
8 Michigan Tech
1 at Lawrence Tech
Fri Sep 15
Final
8 Michigan Tech
1 at Ashland
Sat Sep 16
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Tiffin
Sun Sep 17
Final
3 Michigan Tech
6 at Wayne State
Fri Sep 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sat Sep 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sun Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regionals
@ Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sat Sep 30
Final
5 Saginaw Valley State
4 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 01
Final
7 Northwood
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Grand Valley State
Sat Oct 07
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Oct 14
Final
0 Davenport
9 Michigan Tech
Sun Oct 15
Final
0 Purdue Northwest
9 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
6 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Wayne State
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Ferris State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center GLIAC Tournament - Consolation Bracket
Sun Oct 29
Final
0 Michigan Tech
5 vs. Saginaw Valley State
@ Greater Midland Tennis Center GLIAC Tournament - Fifth Place Match
Fri Mar 09
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Spring Tennis Fest (Mar. 9-17)
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Fall in GLIAC 5th Place Game to SVSU

Huskies Fall in GLIAC 5th Place Game to SVSU

MIDLAND, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women's tennis team lost 5-0 to Saginaw Valley State University in the fifth place match Sunday morning at the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Tournament. The Huskies secured a 5-3 win over Ferris State Saturday to punch their ticket to the fifth place match.

Michigan Tech (8-7) and Saginaw Valley State (9-5) met for the second time this season on Sunday after the two teams went down to the wire in Houghton on September 30th. That day the Cardinals slipped past the Huskies 5-4 and unfortunately on Sunday they were able to get the upper hand with three points in doubles, which set the tone for the rest of the contest.

Ivona Gorgioski and Vicky Quinde nearly scored a point for Tech in doubles as they stayed on the heels of Shea Donahue and Taylor McClaughlin throughout the contest. The Cardinals ended up getting the point with a score of 9-8 and then won number two doubles along with number three doubles 8-4 and 8-3 respectively.

Saginaw Valley State clinched the match with points in the number two and number six spots in the singles lineup. Natalia Parra Alvarez kept things close against Maya Campbell, but fell 6-4, 7-6 in six singles. Madeline Miller picked up the other point for the Cardinals with a 6-1, 6-2 decision against Quintana. Gorgioski, Sandra Cvetanovic, Quinde, and Anabella Neri did not finish their singles matches since the five-point threshold was reached prior to their conclusion.

The Huskies closed the fall portion of the 2017-18 schedule with an overall record of 8-7 and will be back on the court in March when they compete at the Spring Tennis Fest in Hilton Head S.C. March 9-17.

The official GLIAC tournament page can be viewed by clicking here.