Tue Sep 27
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Fri Sep 30
5:00 PM
Findlay
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 01
4:00 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 07
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Walsh
Sat Oct 08
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Fairmont State
@ Wheeling, West Va.
Sat Oct 08
5:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wheeling Jesuit
Fri Oct 14
TBA
TBA
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Chicago, Ill. Midwest Regional Crossover
Fri Oct 14
TBA
TBA
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Chicago, Ill. Midwest Regional Crossover
Sat Oct 15
TBA
TBA
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Chicago, Ill. Midwest Regional Crossover
Fri Oct 21
7:00 PM
Lake Erie
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 22
3:00 PM
Ohio Dominican
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 28
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Oct 29
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Tue Nov 01
7:00 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 04
7:00 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Volleyball Closes Season With Win

Volleyball Closes Season With Win

HOUGHTON, Mich. - The Michigan Tech women's volleyball team closed the 2012 season with a five set win over Saginaw Valley State Saturday (Nov. 10). The Huskies finish with a 12-19 overall record and a 7-11 mark in league play.

"The win didn't come easy, but we showed our toughness and determination," said Matt Jennings who completes his first season as head coach. "We learned to go out and get what we want. That means a lot going forward."

SVSU won the first set 25-22, but Tech won the next two 25-19 and 27-25. The Cardinals won the fourth 25-18, but Tech dominated the final set 15-6 to win the match.

Jennings praised the play of Kienna Sharp who posted a stand-out match for the Huskies hitting .432 with 17 kills and just one error. She blocked a match-high seven attacks and dug eight balls.

Shelby Jones also had a match-high 17 kills and 13 digs to finish with a double-double. Madeline Haben also finished with a double-double with 56 assists and 14 digs.

Jacqueline Aird and Aubrey Havlichek tallied 25 and 20 digs respectively.

Tech finished with advantages in both kills (66-54) and digs (104-99). Saginaw had eight aces to three by Tech.