Tue Sep 27
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Fri Sep 30
5:00 PM
Findlay
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 01
4:00 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 07
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Walsh
Sat Oct 08
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Fairmont State
@ Wheeling, West Va.
Sat Oct 08
5:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wheeling Jesuit
Fri Oct 14
TBA
TBA
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Chicago, Ill. Midwest Regional Crossover
Fri Oct 14
TBA
TBA
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Chicago, Ill. Midwest Regional Crossover
Sat Oct 15
TBA
TBA
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Chicago, Ill. Midwest Regional Crossover
Fri Oct 21
7:00 PM
Lake Erie
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 22
3:00 PM
Ohio Dominican
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 28
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Oct 29
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Tue Nov 01
7:00 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 04
7:00 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Tech Volleyball Defeats Walsh 3-1

Tech Volleyball Defeats Walsh 3-1

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech volleyball team came away with a 3-1 victory over the Walsh Cavaliers in GLIAC volleyball action tonight. The Huskies took the opening set 25-19 and Walsh bounced back with a 25-20 victory in set two, but Michigan Tech closed out the contest with identical scores of 25-17 in the final two sets to improve to 7-10 (4-4 GLIAC).

The Huskies were sharp offensively in the opening set, totaling 16 kills and a .375 hitting percentage against just four errors. Freshman outside hitter Kendall Ward led the way with five kills, while senior setter Madeline Haben contributed 10 assists. 

The visitors led through the majority of the second set, although Michigan Tech shifted the momentum briefly by recording six straight points to close the gap to 19-17. However, Walsh rallied off six of the final nine points to put it away.

The third set was evenly matched early, with the teams playing to a 10-10 stalemate. Michigan Tech then went on a roll and scored 15 of the final 22 points to take a 2-1 lead. Junior outside hitter Shelby Jones contributed five kills, while Ward pitched in with four of her own. Haben led the way defensively with five digs. 

The home team jumped out to a quick 11-3 lead in the final set en route to an eventual 25-17 victory, thanks in part to a pair of early service aces by junior Kienna Sharp and another by Haben.

Ward and Jones shared team-high honors with 15 kills apiece, while Jacqueline Aird paced the squad with 12 digs. The Huskies hit .245 as a team, compared to a .122 mark for the Cavaliers. 

Michigan Tech returns to the court on Saturday (Oct. 12) for a 4 p.m. matchup with Malone.