Fri Sep 22
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Sep 23
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Fri Sep 29
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Sep 30
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Fri Oct 06
5:00 PM
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 07
4:00 PM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 13
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Midwest Regional Crossover Tournament
@ Aurora, IL
Sat Oct 14
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Midwest Regional Crossover Tournament
@ Aurora, IL
Fri Oct 20
4:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
4:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Oct 28
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Nov 04
5:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 10
5:00 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 11
3:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Senior Night/Military Appreciation Weekend
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Women's Volleyball

Eight NCAA Appearances 1994 GLIAC Champions

Tech Volleyball Defeats Walsh 3-1

Tech Volleyball Defeats Walsh 3-1

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech volleyball team came away with a 3-1 victory over the Walsh Cavaliers in GLIAC volleyball action tonight. The Huskies took the opening set 25-19 and Walsh bounced back with a 25-20 victory in set two, but Michigan Tech closed out the contest with identical scores of 25-17 in the final two sets to improve to 7-10 (4-4 GLIAC).

The Huskies were sharp offensively in the opening set, totaling 16 kills and a .375 hitting percentage against just four errors. Freshman outside hitter Kendall Ward led the way with five kills, while senior setter Madeline Haben contributed 10 assists. 

The visitors led through the majority of the second set, although Michigan Tech shifted the momentum briefly by recording six straight points to close the gap to 19-17. However, Walsh rallied off six of the final nine points to put it away.

The third set was evenly matched early, with the teams playing to a 10-10 stalemate. Michigan Tech then went on a roll and scored 15 of the final 22 points to take a 2-1 lead. Junior outside hitter Shelby Jones contributed five kills, while Ward pitched in with four of her own. Haben led the way defensively with five digs. 

The home team jumped out to a quick 11-3 lead in the final set en route to an eventual 25-17 victory, thanks in part to a pair of early service aces by junior Kienna Sharp and another by Haben.

Ward and Jones shared team-high honors with 15 kills apiece, while Jacqueline Aird paced the squad with 12 digs. The Huskies hit .245 as a team, compared to a .122 mark for the Cavaliers. 

Michigan Tech returns to the court on Saturday (Oct. 12) for a 4 p.m. matchup with Malone.