Sat Oct 01
4:00 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 07
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Walsh
Sat Oct 08
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Fairmont State
@ Wheeling, West Va.
Sat Oct 08
5:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wheeling Jesuit
Fri Oct 14
TBA
TBA
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Chicago, Ill. Midwest Regional Crossover
Fri Oct 14
TBA
TBA
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Chicago, Ill. Midwest Regional Crossover
Sat Oct 15
TBA
TBA
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Chicago, Ill. Midwest Regional Crossover
Fri Oct 21
7:00 PM
Lake Erie
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 22
3:00 PM
Ohio Dominican
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 28
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Oct 29
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Tue Nov 01
7:00 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 04
7:00 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 05
3:00 PM
Hillsdale
Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 11
5:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Volleyball Falls at Home to No. 16 Grand Valley on Senior Day

Volleyball Falls at Home to No. 16 Grand Valley on Senior Day

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech volleyball team fell 3-0 to No. 16-ranked Grand Valley State on Saturday (Nov. 2) afternoon in a GLIAC North Division matchup. The Huskies honored their four seniors before the match as Abby DeWitt, Madeline Haben, Jordanna Kero and Tessa Mauer played for the final time at the SDC Gym.

With the loss, Tech falls to 9-16 overall and 5-8 in the GLIAC. The Lakers won their 11th in a row with set scores of 25-14, 25-18 and 25-13 and are now 21-3 overall and 12-1 in conference play.

"The senior class is a resilient group," Tech coach Matt Jennings said. "I was impressed with the enthusiasm I saw when I interviewed for this job. They had a desire to get back out there and get this program back on track. The selflessness they've gone about in this transition is something that I'll never forget."

Sylvie Rokosh and Kendall Ward led the Huskies with seven kills each. Ward had five of her seven kills in the second set while Rokosh hit a .353 attack percentage in the match.

"Our young hitters Sylvie and Kendall were a bright spot today," Jennings said. "They were aggressive on their attacks showed what they're capable of and what we're excited about for the future."

Haben set up the Huskies attack with 22 assists and added nine digs. Jacqueline Aird led the defense with 13 digs.

Betsy Ronda led a balanced Laker attack with a match-high 10 kills. Kaitlyn Wolters had 24 assists and Christina Canepa had 11 digs to lead GVSU.

Tech wraps up the regular season with five road matches, beginning on Tuesday (Nov. 5) at Northern Michigan. Match time is set for 7 p.m. at Vandament Arena.

"Just like at the end of a set when you're losing, you want to build momentum going into the next set, that's what I'm looking for here at the tail end of the season," added Jennings. "The tougher we get now in this environment the better we're going to be next year and the year after."