Thu Aug 31
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Hillsdale
@ Hillsdale, Mich.
Fri Sep 01
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Indianapolis
@ Hillsdale, Mich.
Sat Sep 02
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
vs. Glenville State
@ Hillsdale, Mich.
Sat Sep 02
12:00 PM
Findlay
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hillsdale, Mich. Hillsdale Tournament
Thu Sep 07
6:30 PM
Mary
Michigan Tech
Keweenaw Classic
Fri Sep 08
1:30 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Keweenaw Classic
Fri Sep 08
7:30 PM
St. Cloud State
Michigan Tech
Keweenaw Classic
Sat Sep 09
7:00 PM
Minnesota Duluth
Michigan Tech
Keweenaw Classic
Fri Sep 15
5:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Sep 16
4:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Tue Sep 19
7:00 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 22
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Sep 23
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Fri Sep 29
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Sep 30
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Fall in Season Opener at Lewis

Huskies Fall in Season Opener at Lewis

ROMEOVILLE, Ill. – The Michigan Tech volleyball team fell in its season-opening match at Lewis on Thursday (Sept. 1). The No. 18 ranked Flyers won 25-8, 25-22 and 25-14 at Neil Carey Arena.

"We had a rough match against a very quality opponent today," Tech coach Matt Jennings said. "Luckily for us, we have a quick turnaround with two matches tomorrow."

The Huskies battled down the stretch of the second set. Down 20-18, MacAulay Petersen's kill brought the margin to one. The home team then got to set point with four straight. A service error and back-to-back kills by Aubrey Ficek and Lauren Emmert kept Tech alive, but a service error at 24-22 gave the Lewis a 2-0 lead going into the match break.

Mariah Sherman got the first point of the season for the Black and Gold and finished the afternoon with a team-high eight kills. Petersen had five kills while hitting .231.

Mariel Leibovitz and Rachel Pohlod shared setting duties—each finishing with eight assists. Elle Heinonen led the defense with 11 digs, while Pohlod added six.

Maddie Selga (11) and Bailey Sparkman (10) led the offense for the Flyers. Abby Becker had 30 assists, while Nicole Yuede added 15 digs.

The Huskies play twice Friday (Sept. 2) with a 9 a.m. match against No. 4 Southwest Minnesota State and a 4 p.m. match against Central Washington, both at the Lewis Invite.