Thu Aug 31
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Hillsdale
Fri Sep 01
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Indianapolis
@ Hillsdale, Mich.
Sat Sep 02
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
vs. Glenville State
@ Hillsdale, Mich.
Sat Sep 02
12:00 PM
Findlay
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Hillsdale, Mich. Hillsdale Tournament
Thu Sep 07
6:30 PM
Mary
Michigan Tech
Keweenaw Classic
Fri Sep 08
1:30 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Keweenaw Classic
Fri Sep 08
7:30 PM
St. Cloud State
Michigan Tech
Keweenaw Classic
Sat Sep 09
7:00 PM
Minnesota Duluth
Michigan Tech
Keweenaw Classic
Fri Sep 15
5:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Sep 16
4:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Tue Sep 19
7:00 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Fri Sep 22
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Sep 23
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Fri Sep 29
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Sep 30
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Volleyball Suffers 3-1 Defeat to Wayne State

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech volleyball team wrapped up its two-match home stand with a 3-1 loss to Wayne State on Saturday (Oct. 1). Tech won the first set 25-18 before falling 25-19, 25-19, and 25-12.

"They're good team," Tech coach Matt Jennings said. "We knew we would have our hands full coming in. They play really fast and executed the way they wanted to today, especially in the last three sets."

Tied at six in the first set, the Huskies scored seven straight and 12 of the next 13 to take control. Mariah Sherman had back-to-back kills to give Tech a 1-0 lead.

Wayne State (13-2, 6-1 GLIAC) led the whole second set and scored five of the final six points to tie it up heading into the break.

The visitors scored 9-of-10 points after it was tied at 14 in the third and went on for the set win. The fourth frame was much of the same as the Huskies fell for the third time this week to move to 6-9 overall and 3-4 in the GLIAC

Aubrey Ficek led a very balanced Husky attack with nine kills. Sherman finished with eight kills while Lauren Emmert, Stephanie Dietrich, and Rachel Pohlod added five. Pohlod setup the offense with 26 assists and tallied 14 digs.

The Huskies head back on the road next weekend for three matches, starting Friday at Walsh for a GLIAC matchup. Tech plays defending NCAA Division II National Champions Wheeling Jesuit and Fairmont State on Saturday in Wheeling, West Virginia.

"Our league is so good and so deep, and we know it's going to be a scramble for a playoff spot," added Jennings. "We need to get one in the win column to get some confidence and see where that takes us."