No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 vs. Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 vs. Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
39 UW-Stout
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
50 Winona State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
Final
44 Michigan Tech
67 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
54 Michigan Tech
67 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
61 Ferris State
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
75 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final - OT
87 Grand Valley State
91 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
77 Davenport
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
59 Michigan Tech
63 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
74 Michigan Tech
82 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
83 Northwood
73 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
75 Saginaw Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
71 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
53 Michigan Tech
79 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
59 Michigan Tech
72 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
53 Michigan Tech
71 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
74 Northern Michigan
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Sat Nov 09
Final
78 Michigan Tech
73 at McKendree
GLVC/GLIAC Challenge
Sun Nov 10
Final
54 Lewis
63 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Lebanon, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC Challenge
Sun Nov 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
62 at Winona State
Sat Nov 23
Final
85 Minnesota Duluth
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 29
Final
83 Michigan Tech
80 at Alaska Anchorage
Seawolf Thanksgiving Classic
Sat Nov 30
Final
65 Michigan Tech
57 vs. Alaska
@ Alaska Airlines Center - Anchorage, AK Seawolf Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Dec 05
Final
57 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
Northwood
vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 11
6:00 PM
Finlandia
vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
3:00 PM
Northern Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 21
1:00 PM
Algoma University (Ontario)
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
7:30 PM
Wayne State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
3:00 PM
Ashland
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
8:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Thu Jan 16
7:30 PM
Lake Superior State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
3:00 PM
Ferris State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
7:30 PM
Purdue Northwest
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Parkside
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
7:30 PM
Davenport
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
3:00 PM
Grand Valley State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 27
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Use Second Half Rally to Push Past Ashland

Huskies Use Second Half Rally to Push Past Ashland

ASHLAND, Ohio – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team recovered from a slow start and eventually rallied from a 13-point deficit to secure an 80-71 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference victory Thursday night at Ashland University. The Huskies trailed 34-21 with just over eight minutes to play in the first half, but outscored the Eagles 42-26 in the final 20 minutes to grab a key conference road win.

"To our guys credit we got it together after a sluggish start and executed our game plan to pull out the win tonight," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "We really played hard and I thought our defense was much better in the second half. Our system defensively is setup to not give up a lot of layups, but we gave up too many layups in the first half. We did a much better job shutting off the lanes to the basket in the final 20 minutes. We are going to see a very similar team in Tiffin on Saturday that is very athletic and can get up and go and drive to the basket. We'll have to be strong defensively and be ready to go for 40 minutes."

Michigan Tech (6-7, 4-2 GLIAC) was forced to play catchup at the outset on Thursday when Ashland (7-6, 2-5 GLIAC) burst out of the gate with a 9-0 run. Adrian Cook found the mark on a jumper and then three layups and a free throw by Ben Haraway accounted for the other seven points with 17:23 on the first half clock.

Just over two minutes later, the Huskies closed the gap down to 14-10 on a triple by sophomore Kyle Monroe, but the Eagles would counter on a trey of their own by Nick Bapst. Ashland went up by double digits for the first time at 23-11 when Phil Frentsos hit back to back three-pointers with 12:43 remaining in the first half. The Eagles then constructed their largest advantage of the night at 34-21 when Cook banked in another layup with 8:22 left in the first half.

Tech kept things from getting out of hand with five straight points thanks to a jumper from senior Jordan Chartier and a 3-point field goal from Monroe to slice the deficit to 34-26 with 6:23 on the first half clock. With just under two minutes to play in the first, Chartier connected again on a layup and suddenly the Huskies were down by just three points at 41-38. However, a pair of field goals by Haraway produced the final four points in the first half and sent the Eagles to the locker room with a 45-38 lead.

The Michigan Tech defense buckled down in the second half, enabling the offense to chip away at the deficit in the first 6:33 of the final frame. Junior Tanner Uren, who had a solid game off the bench Thursday night, knotted the score at 54-54 with 13:27 left in the game. The Huskies grabbed their first lead of the contest 56-55 at the 10:38 mark when freshman Tommy Lucca found the bottom of the net on a jumper. The Eagles would take the edge back momentarily on a Cook jumper a few seconds later, but with 9:51 to play, Chartier gave Tech the lead for good on a triple.

Ashland would stay on Tech's heels until a late 10-2 run put the game away. Leading 64-61 with 6:30 to go, the Huskies got a pair of free throws by sophomore Bryan Heath to kick start the scoring run. Heath added two more points on a jumper, Uren made a pair of layups and Monroe capped it with a put back off an offensive rebound to make it 74-63. The Huskies held off the Eagles in the final minute with solid free throw shooting to secure the 80-71 win.

Lucca led all scorers with a game high 24 points for the Huskies in Thursday night's victory. He was 5 of 9 from behind the three-point arc and dealt out seven assists. Monroe posted 16 points, seven rebounds, and three steals followed by Heath with 15 points and Chartier with 12 points, five assists, and seven rebounds. Uren ended the contest with six points, two rebounds, one assist, and one steal.

As a team, the Huskies ended the evening knocking down 28 of 58 shots from the field (48.3%), were 10 for 23 from three-point range (43.5%), and 14 of 17 at the charity stripe (82.4%). Tech out-rebounded Ashland 31-29, accumulated 17 assists and forced 14 turnovers which led to 19 points. Meanwhile, Tech committed only seven miscues and leads the GLIAC in fewest turnovers per game (8.5). The Huskies had 28 of their points scored inside the paint.

Haraway and Osborne each had 16 points to power the Eagles offense in Thursday's game. Frentsos chipped in 10 points off the bench and Marsalis Hamilton had a team high seven rebounds. The Eagles finished the night 24 of 48 from the field (50.0%), were 9 of 24 from three-point land (37.5%), and 14 of 20 at the free throw line (70.0%).

The Huskies will be back in action on Saturday afternoon when they travel to Tiffin for another GLIAC contest. The tip-off is scheduled for 3 p.m.