No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 vs. Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 vs. Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
39 UW-Stout
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
50 Winona State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
Final
44 Michigan Tech
67 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
54 Michigan Tech
67 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
61 Ferris State
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
75 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final - OT
87 Grand Valley State
91 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
77 Davenport
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
59 Michigan Tech
63 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
74 Michigan Tech
82 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
83 Northwood
73 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
75 Saginaw Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
71 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
53 Michigan Tech
79 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
59 Michigan Tech
72 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
53 Michigan Tech
71 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
74 Northern Michigan
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Sat Nov 09
Final
78 Michigan Tech
73 at McKendree
GLVC/GLIAC Challenge
Sun Nov 10
Final
54 Lewis
63 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Lebanon, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC Challenge
Sun Nov 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
62 at Winona State
Sat Nov 23
Final
85 Minnesota Duluth
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 29
Final
83 Michigan Tech
80 at Alaska Anchorage
Seawolf Thanksgiving Classic
Sat Nov 30
Final
65 Michigan Tech
57 vs. Alaska
@ Alaska Airlines Center - Anchorage, AK Seawolf Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Dec 05
Final
57 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
Final
59 Northwood
93 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 11
6:00 PM
Finlandia
vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
3:00 PM
Northern Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 21
1:00 PM
Algoma University (Ontario)
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
7:30 PM
Wayne State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
3:00 PM
Ashland
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
8:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Thu Jan 16
7:30 PM
Lake Superior State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
3:00 PM
Ferris State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
7:30 PM
Purdue Northwest
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Parkside
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
7:30 PM
Davenport
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
3:00 PM
Grand Valley State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 27
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Fall at Ferris State to Close Road Trip

Huskies Fall at Ferris State to Close Road Trip

BIG RAPIDS, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team fell in a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference contest at No. 24 Ferris State University 81-76 on Saturday to wrap up the final regular season road trip of the 2016-17 schedule. Despite the loss, the Huskies are still in the hunt to host a home game in the GLIAC Quarterfinals which are scheduled for Tuesday February 28th.

"I'm proud of our team for battling hard and playing tough throughout the game," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "We a had a couple of lapses today which you can't have against a great team like Ferris State. There are no moral victories, but we lost to a great team, we gave a good effort and kept fighting. We did have the tempo in our favor which was one of our goals going in and we did a good job in that aspect. It will be good to have the support of the home crowd on Thursday when we host Northern Michigan who is playing well right now."

Both offenses were slow out of the gate, but Ferris State (23-4, 17-3 GLIAC) broke through first on a Quentin Ruff triple with 16:41 left in the first half. The Bulldogs then tacked on five more consecutive points on a dunk and free throw by Zach Hankins in addition to a jumper by Peter Firlik to go up 8-0. Michigan Tech (14-13, 12-8 GLIAC) cracked the scoreboard for the first time with 13:37 left in the first half on a jumper by sophomore Bryan Heath to make it an 8-2 score.

The Huskies defense kept the Bulldogs from pulling out of reach and gave the offense some time to get heated up. Trailing 16-10 with just under 10 minutes to go until the break, sophomore Kyle Monroe cashed in back to back layups to bring Tech to within two points at 16-14. However, each time the Huskies threatened to tie or take the lead the Bulldogs would come up with a big shot of their own.

With 5:35 left in the first half, Ferris State created an eight-point deficit for Tech at 25-17 on two free throws by D'Angelo Hughes. Monroe and senior Jason Hawke countered for the Huskies by teaming up for a pair of layups to slice the deficit back to four at 25-21. Ruff gave the Bulldogs another nine-point advantage at 30-21 with just over four minutes to go in the first half, but two free throws courtesy of Heath made it a four-point game again at 33-29.

Drew Cushingberry answered with a layup for Ferris State, but Heath made another trip to the charity stripe to reduce the deficit to four again at 35-31 with 1:15 on the clock. Hughes and Cushingberry collaborated for five more Bulldog points on a trey and jumper to run the score up to 40-31, but a tip-in by Hawke at the buzzer for the Huskies gave Tech some momentum and just a seven-point deficit at 40-33 at halftime.

Freshman Tommy Lucca opened the second half for MTU with a jumper and with 17:54 to play and then Heath brought the Huskies to within one at 42-41. Ferris State used a timeout to slow the momentum for Tech and maintained the lead at least for the time being. Peter Firlik increased the Bulldogs lead to 50-45 with 12:39 to go, but Monroe and senior Jordan Chartier combined for a pair of triples to put the Huskies in front for the first time 51-50 with 11:21 remaining in the final period.

Unfortunately, Tech was unable to keep the edge for long. The Bulldogs received a layup from Cole Walker and another trey by Ruff to rebuild a four-point advantage at 55-51. Michigan Tech climbed to within two points twice and three points three times, but couldn't recapture the edge. Ferris State kept the Huskies at arm's length for the remainder of the afternoon.

Firlik bumped the lead for Ferris State to nine again at 75-66 with 51 seconds left on two free throws. Tech kept things interesting though in the final minute on three pointers by Chartier and Hawke along with layups from Lucca and Heath. The buckets helped trim the deficit to four twice in the last seconds, but Ferris State free throws prevented Tech from climbing all the way back in it.

Monroe and Heath powered Michigan Tech with 22 points each on Saturday followed by a season high 13 points from Hawke, who went 6 of 10 from the field. Lucca had a team high nine assists and six rebounds to go along with nine points and four steals. Chartier had six points and chipped in with seven assists, helping the Huskies produce 23 total as a team.

Tech finished the contest making 31 of 66 shots from the field (47.0%), they were 8 of 20 from behind the arc (40.0%), and 6 of 10 at the free throw line (60.0%). The Huskies scored 40 points in the paint and picked up 10 points off turnovers.

Ruff powered the Bulldogs with 20 points on Saturday followed by Cushingberry with 15 points. Hankins added 13 points and 10 rebounds for the double-double while Firlik rounded out the double digit scorers with 10 points. Cushingberry distributed six assists and had four steals. Ferris State was successful on 28 of 57 shots from the field (49.1%), were 8 for 21 from three-point land (38.1%), and 17 of 23 at the charity stripe (73.9%).

The Huskies find themselves in a four way tie for second place in the GLIAC North Division standings. Ferris State and Findlay have secured the No. 1 and No. 2 seeds respectively in the upcoming GLIAC Tournament with the other seeds still needing to be decided going into the final game of the regular season on Thursday. Michigan Tech is still in the hunt for a top four seed which would enable them to host a GLIAC Quarterfinal contest at the SDC Wood Gym.

It all rides on Thursdays game at home against Northern Michigan University in Houghton. The tip-off is slated for 7:30 p.m.