Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
39 UW-Stout
81 Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
50 Winona State
69 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
Final
44 Michigan Tech
67 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
54 Michigan Tech
67 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
61 Ferris State
64 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
75 Lake Superior State
67 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final - OT
87 Grand Valley State
91 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
77 Davenport
68 Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
2:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
7:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Bounce Back Saturday against Purdue Northwest

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team got back on track Saturday afternoon with a solid 78-62 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference victory at home over Purdue Northwest in the SDC Gym. Following a back and forth battle at the outset of the game, the Huskies seized control in the final five minutes of the first half with a 16-0 run to claim a 36-23 lead at the break. Tech never looked back from that point forward.

"I was really happy for the guys that they were able to bounce back with a good performance today," Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "We did a much better job executing on defense compared to Thursday's game against Parkside. I also thought our offense did good job against their pressure and getting the ball inside, which is what we wanted to do.

"It's been a hectic and difficult schedule so far, being on the road with two games per weekend before the two home games this week. We'll design practices this week with some rest in mind along with working on getting better at executing our systems. It's nice to be at home and this will be a good week to get our players some rest and fresh legs with just the one game on Saturday. We'll look to come out and play well at home against UW-Stout next weekend."

It was a bit of a sluggish start for both offenses Saturday afternoon, with neither side getting a bucket for almost three minutes. Purdue Northwest (3-7, 0-4 GLIAC) struck first though when Richard Robertson found his way to the basket at the 17:17 mark. Freshman Owen White countered for Michigan Tech (5-4, 2-2 GLIAC) by firing in a triple on the ensuing possession to make it a 3-2 score a few seconds later.

Saturday's showdown would feature five ties and five lead changes in the first 17 minutes of the game. However, the Huskies would set the tone and wrestle the momentum away from the Pride late in the opening period. Trailing 23-20 with 4:38 left until the break, Tech kicked off the 16-0 scoring burst on two free throws by White and then freshman Kyle Clow powered his way to the basket for a layup to give the Huskies a 24-23 lead.

Senior Bryan Heath, who would fire in a game high 21 points, added two more points to the scoreboard for Tech to make it 26-23 with 3:14 to play until the intermission. The Huskies continued to pile up the points in the final moments of the half, thanks to buckets by sophomore Trent Bell and White to close it out. White put the exclamation point on the first period when he sent home a triple to give tech a 36-23 advantage going into the locker room at halftime.

The Huskies picked up right where they left off to begin the second half, logging the first four points of the final period. Heath and White both worked their way into the paint for layups to increase the gap to 40-23 in favor of Tech. The Pride climbed to within 10 points at 45-35 on a three-point basket by Gregory Boyle with 15:39 to play, but that's as close as they would get.

The Huskies eventually opened up their largest lead of the day with just over six minutes go in the game. Freshman Jake Witt did the honors with a mid-range jumper to make it a 69-49 score. The lead would fluctuate between 17 and 20 points for Tech until the final basket of the afternoon from the Pride's Chandler Spring with 15 seconds remaining, resulting in the 78-62 final tally.

Heath landed 9 of his 17 shots in the bottom of the net on his way to a team high 21 points for the Huskies Saturday afternoon. Sophomore Dawson Bilski followed with 15 points and seven rebounds while White added 16 points and six boards to round out the double digit scorers for the Huskies. Bell nearly came up with a double-double, thanks to a career high 14 rebounds and eight points. He shared the team lead in assists with Isaac Appleby as each player dished out three on the afternoon.

Team numbers for Tech included 33 successful field goals on 68 total attempts (48.5%). The Huskies were 8 for 23 from long distance (34.8%) and connected on 4 of 6 looks at the charity stripe (66.7%). MTU had a huge advantage on the glass, hauling down 50 rebounds compared to only 34 boards for the Pride. Tech recorded 36 points in the paint and dished out 15 assists.

Anthony Barnard and Timothy Gilmore each had 10 points to guide the Purdue Northwest offense Saturday. Barnard also reeled in a game high 15 rebounds while Chase Rankin dealt out a team best five assists in addition to eight points. The Pride made 23 of 67 shots from the floor (34.3%), were just 6 of 23 from three-point range (26.1%), and 10 of 18 at the free throw line (55.6%).

The Huskies take the floor again Saturday when they entertain the University of Wisconsin-Stout in a non-conference contest. The tip-off at the SDC Gym is slated for 6 p.m. eastern time.