No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 vs. Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 vs. Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
39 UW-Stout
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
50 Winona State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
Final
44 Michigan Tech
67 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
54 Michigan Tech
67 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
61 Ferris State
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
75 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final - OT
87 Grand Valley State
91 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
77 Davenport
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
59 Michigan Tech
63 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
74 Michigan Tech
82 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
83 Northwood
73 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
75 Saginaw Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
71 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
53 Michigan Tech
79 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
59 Michigan Tech
72 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
53 Michigan Tech
71 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
74 Northern Michigan
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
View Full Schedule

Huskies Suffer 77-68 Loss to Davenport

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team fell to Davenport University 77-68 in a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference contest Saturday afternoon at the SDC Gym. The Huskies built an 11-point lead before the Panthers stormed back in the second half to grab the win.

"Today's game was an exact opposite of what we've faced in contests so far this season," Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "We've normally been behind and had to try and battle our way back, but today we struggled playing with the lead. Credit goes to Davenport for hanging in there and willing themselves to the win. We were able to build a double digit lead, but were unable to maintain our intensity. This is another learning experience for our club and we'll look to grow from this and get better.

"We'll go back to work this week in practice and focus on correcting the things we struggled with today. We also want to make sure our players are rested and ready to go for a big rivalry game next Saturday at Northern Michigan. The Wildcats are a really good team that is solid offensively and plays hard on defense. We have to be sharp and play tough, because in rivalry games a lot of times it's the tougher team that comes out on top."

Michigan Tech (9-8, 4-6 GLIAC) fired out of the gate Saturday afternoon on a 7-2 run to establish an early lead. Freshman Owen White got the Huskies rolling on a layup 30 seconds into the action followed by a triple and layup courtesy of sophomore Isaac Appleby. Davenport (14-3, 7-3 GLIAC) then closed the gap to one point at 7-6 with 15:33 to play in the first half on a jumper by Avery Hudson and two free throws via Dyllon Hudson-Emory.

Although the score remained close, the Huskies were able to maintain the lead throughout the first half of play. Tech's largest advantage of the opening 20 minutes was six points at 20-14, which occurred with 4:18 showing on the clock following a layup by senior Bryan Heath. The Panthers didn't let the Huskies completely pull away though and trimmed their deficit back down to one again at 27-26. Hudson-Emory sent in a three-pointer with 46 seconds to play until the intermission, but an Appleby layup just before the buzzer sent the Huskies into the locker room with some momentum and a 29-26 lead.

That momentum carried into the opening moments of the second half as the Huskies went right back to work on the offensive end of the floor. Heath dialed up a triple to begin the second followed by another trey from Appleby. White then sliced his way to the basket for a layup and the Huskies found themselves on top 37-26 with 18:29 to play in the contest. The eight straight points to start the second half combined with the two points to finish off the first period created a 10-0 scoring run for Tech.

The Huskies continued to maintain an 11-point lead at 40-29 thanks to a Heath triple with 17:26 to go, but unfortunately a scoring burst by the Panthers quickly followed. Over the next five minutes, Davenport generated 19 consecutive points and grabbed a 48-40 lead with 12:47 to play in the contest. The run culminated on a conventional three-point play by Hudson-Emory.

Chris Rollins then gave the Panthers a double digit lead at 53-42 by way of a layup and the separation grew to as many as 17 points at 67-50 with 3:18 left following a triple by Janeau Joubert. The Huskies didn't give up though and engineered an 8-0 run to get back into contention in the final moments.

White connected from downtown and then added two free throws before Heath sank a trey to make it 67-58 with 1:18 on the clock. The Huskies were then able to bring the deficit down to five points at 73-68 with 18 seconds left to work with. Sophomore Trent Bell sighted in a pair of free throws, but unfortunately those would be the final points of the day for Tech. The Panthers were able to close things out with four consecutive conversions at the charity stripe in the final seconds to seal the win.

Heath guided the Huskies Saturday with a team high 20 points followed by Appleby with 15 points and a team best three assists and two steals. White tossed in 14 points and contributed a pair of steals on the defensive end of the floor as well. Freshman Jake Witt chipped in eight points and anchored the paint for the Huskies with a team high eight rebounds.

In terms of team numbers, the Huskies were successful on 20 of 53 shots from the field (37.7%), made 8 of 25 opportunities from three-point range (32.0%), and converted 20 of 26 chances at the free throw line (76.9%). Rebounds were even at 35 apiece, but the Huskies recorded 17 second chance points off of 11 offensive boards.

Hudson had a game high 22 points to power the Panthers followed closely by Hudson-Emory with 21 points and a team best eight rebounds in Saturday's game. Joubert added 15 points and Rollins contributed 12 points and seven assists to round out the double digit scorers. As a team, the Panthers found the bottom of the net on 24 of 54 shots from the field (44.4%), were 7 for 19 from behind the arc (36.8%), and 22 of 26 at the free throw line (84.6%).

The Huskies are back in action on Saturday when they make the trip to Marquette to battle rival Northern Michigan University. The tip-off is scheduled for 1 p.m. eastern time.