No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 vs. Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 vs. Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
39 UW-Stout
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
50 Winona State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
Final
44 Michigan Tech
67 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
54 Michigan Tech
67 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
61 Ferris State
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
75 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final - OT
87 Grand Valley State
91 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
77 Davenport
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
59 Michigan Tech
63 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
74 Michigan Tech
82 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
83 Northwood
73 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
75 Saginaw Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
71 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
53 Michigan Tech
79 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
59 Michigan Tech
72 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
53 Michigan Tech
71 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
74 Northern Michigan
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
View Full Schedule

Huskies Come Up Short at Ferris State

Dawson Bilski drives to basket

BIG RAPIDS, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team suffered a 79-53 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference loss at Ferris State Saturday afternoon. The Huskies battled back from an early double digit deficit to draw to within three points with just under 14 minutes to go in the second half, but the Bulldogs countered with a 10-0 scoring run to regain the momentum and pull away.

"I'm proud of our guys for battling back to make it a one possession game in the second half," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "We made a couple of mistakes right after that, Ferris State took advantage, and the game changed quickly from there. I'm proud that we fought back and once again our players never gave up. When we are able to do the little things well and pay a little bit more attention to detail we'll be able to prevail in this kind of game. They had us down and out and our players didn't quit.

"It's a tough stretch of games for us on the road, but it's the GLIAC and we'll work hard this week to get ready for Davenport and Grand Valley State. I continue to look at the bigger picture and when we all get on the same page and fine tune our execution of the Michigan Tech systems we can be a great club."

Michigan Tech (11-13, 6-11 GLIAC) struck first when freshman Owen White attacked the basket for a layup in the opening minute of the contest. Ferris State (19-9, 11-6 GLIAC) knotted the score at 2-2 courtesy of a D'Angelo Hughes layup on the ensuing possession and from there the teams traded points over the next four minutes. Sophomore Dawson Bilski momentarily put Tech back on top 6-4 with a layup at the 14:59 mark.

Unfortunately, the Bulldogs would reel off 13 consecutive points to establish a 17-6 advantage. Markese Mayfield fired in the first basket to tie the score and then a Hughes triple with 10:40 to play in the first half capped the burst. Ferris State would eventually go up by as many as 18 points at 36-18 with just over two minutes to go until the break.

However, the Huskies began to climb back in it during the closing stretch of the first frame. Sophomore Dawson Bilski sliced to the basket for a layup followed by a bank shot by junior Ryan Schuller after Bilski hauled down a defensive rebound off a Ferris State missed three-pointer. Bilski then filled up a triple with 31 seconds left on the first half clock to cut the gap to 36-25 just before the intermission.

A strong start to the second half enabled the Huskies to make an even greater dent into Ferris State's lead. With 17:06 to play in the game, sophomore Trent Bell dropped in a layup to kick start an 8-0 Huskies scoring run. Bilski cashed in two free throws and sophomore Isaac Appleby drained a triple to bring Tech to within five points at 39-34 with 15:44 remaining in the contest.

White then cut it to three points for the first time at 40-37 on a layup at the 13:53 mark and then the two sides exchanged hoops to keep the three-point gap intact. Bilski notched a mid-range jumper for the Huskies with 13:15 to go, leaving the score at 42-39. However, Ferris State seized control once again with a 10-0 run over the next four minutes.

Michael Peterson's jumper with 9:17 to play made it a 52-39 score and from there the Bulldogs continued to build on their lead. Ferris State's advantage maxed out at 79-51 with 1:40 showing on the clock following a layup by Dylan Dankenbring. Freshman TeeAaron Powell closed out the scoring for the Huskies right as time expired, resulting in the 79-53 final score.

Bilski powered the Huskies offense with 14 points followed by eight points from sophomore Trent Bell and senior KC Borseth. For Borseth, it was a career high in points which was produced on a 3 of 6 shooting effort from the field. White wrapped up the day with seven points and shared the team lead in rebounds with Appleby at six. Freshman Carter Johnston distributed four assists and did a solid job breaking the Ferris State press throughout the afternoon.

As a team, the Huskies were 22 of 60 from the field (36.7%), fired in 5 of 26 attempts from three-point range (19.2%), and were 4 for 6 at the free throw line (66.7%). Tech recorded 30 points in the paint and hauled down 36 rebounds.

Hughes paced the Bulldogs with 14 points, Thrower produced 12 points, and Mayfield along with Armani Tinsley each chipped in 10 points Saturday afternoon. Mayfield grabbed a team high seven rebounds and had a pair of steals. The Bulldogs were 29 of 62 from the floor (46.8%), made 10 of 24 chances from long distance (41.7%), and converted 11 of 15 looks at the free throw line (73.3%).

The Huskies will be back in action for two GLIAC games next week starting Thursday night at Davenport followed by a contest at Grand Valley State Saturday. Thursday's tip-off against the Panthers is slated for 7:30 p.m. eastern time.