No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 vs. Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 vs. Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
39 UW-Stout
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
50 Winona State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
Final
44 Michigan Tech
67 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
54 Michigan Tech
67 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
61 Ferris State
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
75 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final - OT
87 Grand Valley State
91 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
77 Davenport
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
59 Michigan Tech
63 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
74 Michigan Tech
82 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
83 Northwood
73 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
75 Saginaw Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
71 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
53 Michigan Tech
79 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
59 Michigan Tech
72 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
53 Michigan Tech
71 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
74 Northern Michigan
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
View Full Schedule

Huskies Close Road Trip with 71-53 Setback at Grand Valley State

Huskies Close Road Trip with 71-53 Setback at Grand Valley State

ALLENDALE, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team completed a four game road trip with a 71-53 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference loss at Grand Valley State Saturday afternoon. The Huskies fell behind early and were unable to regroup against a Lakers team that has now won four in a row.

"Grand Valley State is playing well right now and are tough to beat on this court," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "I thought we responded better in the second half and did some nice things offensively and defensively. We had a number of good shots on the offensive end of the floor today, but struggled at times to convert. We played harder and were more aggressive in the second and we have to find a way to do that from start to finish. We have one more chance to take the floor this season against a good Northern Michigan club Thursday night. We are excited to be at home for Senior Day and our guys will work hard this week to finish the season strong against the Wildcats."

Grand Valley State (16-11, 10-9 GLIAC) established a foothold on the scoreboard in the first four minutes of Saturday's game with a 10-0 run. Jake Van Tubbergen gave the Lakers their first points of the afternoon when he knocked down a mid-range jumper 18 seconds into the action. Grand Valley State then reeled off eight more consecutive points before Michigan Tech (11-15, 6-13 GLIAC) was able to break through on offense for the first time with just over 15 minutes to go in the half.

Ben Lubitz capped the scoring burst for the Lakers with a pair of free throws, creating a 10-0 score at the 15:47 mark. Sophomore Trent Bell provided Tech's first points of the day when he filled up a triple to make it 10-3 with 15:24 remaining until the intermission. About two minutes later, Bell helped keep the Huskies within seven points when he came up with a steal at the timeline and sprinted to the basket for a dunk to make it 15-8.

Unfortunately, a 9-0 scoring run by the Lakers ensued to increase the gap to 24-8 with 11:28 left in the opening frame. Jeremiah Ferguson cut to the basket for a layup for Grand Valley State's final basket during that stretch. Sophomore Dawson Bilski countered with the next five points for the Huskies and his three-point basket with 9:38 to play until the break kept Tech within 13 points at 26-13.

However, during the final minutes of the first half the Lakers were able to keep inching further and further away. Justin Greason gave Grand Valley State a 43-19 advantage when he hauled down an offensive rebound and followed it up with a jumper at the 2:42 mark. Greason then closed out the scoring in the first 20 minutes by sinking two attempts at the charity stripe for a 45-20 Grand Valley State lead at the intermission.

The Huskies regrouped at halftime and put together a strong second half, outpacing the Lakers 33-26 in the final 20 minutes of Saturday's battle. Grand Valley State opened up a 62-28 advantage courtesy of a Van Tubbergen trey with 11:57 remaining in the game, but the Huskies were able to slice away nearly half the points off the gap by the time the final horn sounded.

Tech was finally able to settle into a rhythm on offense when Bilski and sophomore Isaac Appleby hoisted in consecutive triples with just under seven minutes to go, cutting the gap to 66-40. Freshman Jalen Carter generated a layup followed by free throws from junior Ryan Schuller and Bell to close the divide to 67-45 at the 4:06 mark.

Freshman Jake Witt produced five points in the final two minutes and freshman Carter Johnston was the 10th Tech player to record points when he came up with a steal in the final seconds, leading to a layup on the offensive end of the floor. Carter aided Johnston with an assist on the play which resulted in the final tally of 71-53.

Bell and Bilski powered the Huskies' attack on Saturday with each player logging 12 points in the game. Bell closed the day as Tech's leading rebounder thanks to seven boards against the Lakers. Witt and senior Bryan Heath generated eight points apiece followed by Appleby, Carter, and KC Borseth with three points each. Johnston had two points with one each from Schuller and freshman Owen White. Appleby distributed a team high three assists and played havoc on the Grand Valley State offense with three steals.

In terms of team stats, the Huskies connected on 19 of 56 shots from the field (33.9%), were 7 for 23 from behind the arc (30.4%), and 8 for 15 at the charity stripe (53.3%). Tech hauled down 36 rebounds and had 12 second chance points off of 10 offensive boards.

Hunter Hale paced the Lakers with 14 points, Greason tossed in 13 points, Van Tubbergen fired in 12 points, and Ferguson chipped in 10 points to round out the double digit scorers in Saturday's contest. Van Tubbergen just missed a double-double with nine rebounds while Hale dished out two assists and had seven steals.

As a team, the Lakers made 22 of 51 shots from the field (43.1%), were 4 of 16 from three-point land (25.0%), and 23 of 28 at the free throw line (82.1%). The Lakers ended the day with 40 rebounds and scored 23 points off of 19 Tech turnovers.

The Huskies return to Houghton Thursday night to host rival Northern Michigan in a GLIAC showdown at the SDC Gym. Thursday's game is also Senior Night and both the Tech men's and women's teams will honor their senior players between games. Thursday night's tip-off is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. eastern time.