No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 vs. Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 vs. Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
39 UW-Stout
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
50 Winona State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
Final
44 Michigan Tech
67 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
54 Michigan Tech
67 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
61 Ferris State
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
75 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final - OT
87 Grand Valley State
91 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
77 Davenport
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
59 Michigan Tech
63 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
74 Michigan Tech
82 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
83 Northwood
73 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
75 Saginaw Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
71 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
53 Michigan Tech
79 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
59 Michigan Tech
72 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
53 Michigan Tech
71 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
74 Northern Michigan
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
View Full Schedule

Huskies Rally for 78-73 Victory at McKendree

Owen White dribbling the basketball

LEBANON, Ill. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team battled back for a 78-73 non-conference win at McKendree University Saturday night in the GLIAC/GLVC Crossover Tournament. The Huskies trailed 35-27 at the break before outpacing the Bearcats 51-38 in the second half to secure the victory on opening day of the 2019-20 season.

"We had a slow start to the game and McKendree played well in the first half, but I thought we played a much better second half to get a solid win to start the season," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "We settled in during the final 20 minutes and executed our systems both offensively and defensively much more effectively. We struggled a bit to find a rhythm in the first half, but I was pleased with our effort to get back on track and play the Michigan Tech way. We'll now get ready to face Lewis tomorrow afternoon in what will be another tough game against a good team."

Michigan Tech (1-0) and McKendree (0-1) battled back and forth through the opening minutes of Saturday's game with neither side establishing more than a one possession lead early on. Junior Dawson Bilski got the Huskies on the board first when he connected on a mid-range jumper in the first minute of the first half to make it 2-0.

With the game tied at 8-8 with 14:17 left in the first half, senior Tommy Lucca dialed in a triple to give the Huskies an 11-8 edge. Lucca then found the bottom of the net again from long distance at the 12:41 mark, establishing a 14-8 advantage for the Huskies at that juncture of the contest.

Unfortunately, Tech's offense slowed down a bit over the next four minutes and McKendree was able to slip in front for the first time at 19-18 on a Logan Kohrmann jumper with 8:11 on the clock. The Huskies quickly countered with Lucca who knocked down a mid-range jumper to push the Huskies back on top again at 20-19 on the ensuing possession.

However, the lead didn't stay intact for long and the Bearcats were able to get things rolling on the offensive end of the floor. McKendree engineered an 11-0 scoring run and established a 10-point advantage at 30-20 with just under four minutes to go in the first half on a triple courtesy of Oliver Stephen. The bearcast eventually setup a 35-27 lead going into the locker room at halftime.

The Huskies continued to trail by double digits at 49-39 as the second half clock ticked down to under 12 minutes remaining in Saturday's contest. Sophomore Owen White began to turn the tide in Tech's favor when he found the target from three-point range to make it 49-42. Bilski followed suite with a trey of his own and suddenly the Huskies were back to within four points of the Bearcats at 49-45 with exactly 11 minutes remaining in the game.

McKendree continued to maintain an edge though until senior Kyle Monroe sent the Huskies back in front 64-63 on a layup with 4:53 showing on the second half clock. Monroe was also fouled on the play and proceeded to sink the bonus free throw. From that point forward, the Huskies kept the advantage on their side of the scoreboard. Monroe along with junior Isaac Appleby, White, and Bilski all contributed key free throws and field goals to keep McKendree at arm's length in the final five minutes to preserve the win.

Monroe led all players in Saturday night's game with 29 points, sinking 9 of 18 shots from the field while converting on 11 of 13 chances at the free throw line. He also hauled down a team high nine rebounds and came up with three steals on the defensive end of the floor. Lucca followed with 18 points while dishing out four assists and contributing five rebounds of his own. Bilski rounded out the double-digit scorers with 14 points while White was successful on 3 of 4 shots from the field, resulting in eight points on the stat sheet.

As a team, the Huskies made 26 of 60 shots from the field (43.3%), were 10 for 23 from three-point range (43.5%), and 16 of 19 at the free throw line (84.2%). Tech had a slight 31-28 edge in rebounding and forced 19 McKendree turnovers which led to 24 Tech points. The Huskies also had 10 second chance points courtesy of 10 offensive rebounds.

Stephen had a team high 19 points for the Wildcats followed by Aleksa Popovic with 15 points Saturday night. Kohrmann fired in 12 points and Bryson Bultman was the fourth Wildcat player to reach the double-digit threshold with 10 points. Stephen and Popovic each reeled in a team high six rebounds while Bultman distributed three assists. As a team, the Bearcats made 28 of 50 shots from the field (56.0%), were successful on 8 of 19 triple tries (42.1%), and converted 9 of 13 opportunities at the free throw line (69.2%).

The Huskies are back on the court Sunday for game two of the GLIAC/GLVC Crossover Tournament hosted by McKendree University. Tech will play Lewis University who lost to Northern Michigan on Saturday 76-63.

Sunday's tip-off is scheduled for 2 p.m. eastern time.