No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 vs. Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 vs. Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
39 UW-Stout
81 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
Final
50 Winona State
69 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
Final
44 Michigan Tech
67 at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
Final
54 Michigan Tech
67 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
Final
61 Ferris State
64 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
75 Lake Superior State
67 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Jan 17
Final - OT
87 Grand Valley State
91 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
Final
77 Davenport
68 vs. Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
Final
59 Michigan Tech
63 at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 at Purdue Northwest
Hammond, Ind. (FNRC)
Sat Feb 02
Final
74 Michigan Tech
82 at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
Final
83 Northwood
73 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
Final
75 Saginaw Valley State
54 vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
Final
74 Michigan Tech
71 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
53 Michigan Tech
79 at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
Final
59 Michigan Tech
72 at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
Final
53 Michigan Tech
71 at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
Final
74 Northern Michigan
53 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Day
Sat Nov 09
Final
78 Michigan Tech
73 at McKendree
GLVC/GLIAC Challenge
Sun Nov 10
Final
54 Lewis
63 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Lebanon, Ill. GLVC/GLIAC Challenge
Sun Nov 17
Final
59 Michigan Tech
62 at Winona State
Sat Nov 23
Final
85 Minnesota Duluth
80 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 29
Final
83 Michigan Tech
80 at Alaska Anchorage
Seawolf Thanksgiving Classic
Sat Nov 30
Final
65 Michigan Tech
57 vs. Alaska
@ Alaska Airlines Center - Anchorage, AK Seawolf Thanksgiving Classic
Thu Dec 05
Final
57 Saginaw Valley State
79 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 07
Final
59 Northwood
93 vs. Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 11
Final
72 Finlandia
119 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 15
3:00 PM
Northern Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 21
1:00 PM
Algoma University (Ontario)
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 02
7:30 PM
Wayne State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 04
3:00 PM
Ashland
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 09
8:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Sat Jan 11
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Thu Jan 16
7:30 PM
Lake Superior State
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 18
3:00 PM
Ferris State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 23
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Jan 25
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Thu Jan 30
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 01
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Feb 06
7:30 PM
Purdue Northwest
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Parkside
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 13
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Feb 15
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 20
7:30 PM
Davenport
vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 22
3:00 PM
Grand Valley State
vs. Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 27
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Top Lewis 63-54 Sunday at GLIAC/GLVC Crossover

Isaac Appleby dribbling the ball

LEBANON, Ill. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team notched win number two of the weekend on the strength of a 63-54 victory over Lewis University on the second day of the GLIAC/GLVC Crossover Tournament Sunday afternoon. The Huskies trailed 34-33 at the break, but for the second straight game put together a strong final half to lock down the win.

"Today's game was a great way to finish the weekend," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "Going on the road and getting two wins against two good clubs was tremendous for our team. Lewis played really well and I thought our defense stepped up big in the second half to slow them down. Our offense came around as well in the second half, which was great to see."

Michigan Tech (2-0) exploded out of the gate Sunday with six points in the opening minute to grab a 6-0 advantage. Senior Tommy Lucca filled up a three-point basket to get the offense rolling followed by another triple from senior Kyle Monroe at the 19:16 mark of the first half. Lewis (0-2) then countered with a 7-0 scoring burst to capture the lead for the first time at 7-6 with 17:10 to play until the break. Monroe gave the Huskies the edge once again at 9-7 with another trey a few seconds later, setting in motion a sequence of exchanged field goals between the two clubs over the next few minutes.

The Flyers eventually established their largest lead of the day with just under five minutes to play in the first half. Artese Stapleton dialed in a three-point basket to make it a 34-23 score. However, the Huskies began to regroup in the later stages of Sunday's opening half. The points via Stapleton's basket would prove to be it for the Flyers in the first half.

Meanwhile, Tech put up 10 unanswered points to close the gap to one point at 34-33 right before the end of the opening frame. Monroe kick started the rally with a midrange jumper and added two free throws followed by two more successful shot attempts from the field. Sophomore Owen White centered in two free throws with 18 seconds on the clock to cap the run and Sunday's first half.

The Huskies defense continued to shut down the Lewis offensive attack at the outset of the second half, enabling the Huskies to regain the lead at 36-35 on a triple by junior Dawson Bilski at the 16:36 mark. With the game tied 39-39, Tech grabbed the lead for good at 42-39 on another three-point basket by Bilski with 11:37 on the clock.

The Flyers stayed within two to three possessions of the Huskies until the final four minutes of the game when Tech was able to pull away. Leading 52-46, White bumped the Tech advantage to 54-46 on a layup and then fired in a jumper to make it 10 points at 56-46 with 3:44 on the second half clock. White then created the Huskies largest lead of the afternoon at 58-46 with 3:09 to go.

Lewis made one final push to try and draw even or take the lead late, but could get no closer than six points down the stretch. Adam Pischke sank two free throws to slice Tech's lead to 58-52 with 1:22 remaining, but Monroe and Lucca were able to seal the win with some key free throws of their own in the final minute Sunday afternoon.

Monroe powered Tech's offense for the second straight game with 23 points and 10 rebounds, resulting in his first double-double of the 2019-20 campaign. Bilski followed with 14 points while adding five rebounds and a pair of assists to the stat sheet. White wrapped up the contest with 13 points to round out the double-digit scorers for the Huskies. Monroe and Lucca ended up leading the team in the assist category with three apiece.

As a team, the Huskies made 21 of 57 shots from the field (36.8%), were 10 of 31 from three-point range (32.3%), and cashed in 11 of 14 chances at the free throw line (78.6%). The Huskies had a slight edge in rebounding at 39-37, scored 16 points in the paint, and limited their turnovers to 10 while forcing 12 miscues by Lewis.

Anthony D'Avanzo had 18 points and nine rebounds to lead the Flyers Sunday afternoon. Pischke followed with 10 points and five assists while Dre Bell and Jake Reinhart each chipped in nine points. Tech's defense limited Lewis to a 20 for 57 shooting performance from the field (35.1%). The Flyers connected on just 7 of 25 attempts from long distance (28.0%) and were 7 of 9 at the free throw line (77.8%).

The Huskies will be back on the court next Sunday when they travel to Winona State University for their third non-conference game of the season. The tip-off is scheduled for 2 p.m. eastern time.