No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final - OT
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
Final
2 Northern Michigan
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
Final
5 Michigan Tech
3 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Fri Mar 09
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 11
Final - OT
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 3
Sat Mar 17
Final
2 Michigan Tech
0 at Northern Michigan
WCHA Championship Game
Fri Mar 23
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Notre Dame
@ Bridgeport, CT NCAA Tournament - East Region Semifinal
Fri Oct 12
Final
2 Minnesota Duluth
1 Michigan Tech
Hall of Fame Weekend
Sat Oct 13
Final
5 Minnesota Duluth
2 Michigan Tech
Hall of Fame Weekend
Fri Oct 26
Final
6 Michigan Tech
2 at Wisconsin
Sat Oct 27
Final
2 Michigan Tech
6 at Wisconsin
Fri Nov 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Alabama Huntsville
Sat Nov 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
1 at Alabama Huntsville
Fri Nov 09
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Nov 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Nov 16
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Clarkson
Sat Nov 17
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Clarkson
Fri Nov 30
Final - OT
3 Bemidji State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 01
Final
2 Bemidji State
7 Michigan Tech
Fri Dec 07
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Northern Michigan
Sat Dec 08
Final
1 Northern Michigan
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Dec 14
Final
1 Alabama Huntsville
0 Michigan Tech
Vollwerth's Family Night
Sat Dec 15
Final - OT
1 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 30
Final Shootout - Home
2 Michigan
2 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit Michigan Great Lakes Invitational
Mon Dec 31
Final
6 Lake Superior State
3 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit Michigan Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Jan 04
Final
1 Michigan Tech
4 at Minnesota State
Sat Jan 05
Final
2 Michigan Tech
4 at Minnesota State
Fri Jan 11
Final
0 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
3 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Jan 18
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Sat Jan 19
8:37 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Fri Jan 25
11:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Jan 26
11:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Feb 08
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 09
5:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 15
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Check.Slash.Survive
Fri Feb 22
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 23
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Skate with the Huskies
Fri Mar 01
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Senior Night
Sat Mar 02
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies fall in GLI Championship to LSSU

DETROIT – Michigan Tech fell 6-3 to Lake Superior State in the 54th annual Great Lakes Invitational Championship Game on New Year's Eve at Little Caesars Arena. It was a one-goal game before the Lakers potted a pair of empty-net tallies late in the third.

"The guys certainly are disappointed in the locker room over there, but I think the better team won tonight," Tech coach Joe Shawhan said. "They won the battles and controlled play early in the game. We had very little sustained offensive zone pressure on them. It felt like we were just kind of hanging on all game."

Tech quickly found itself down 2-0 in the first period and had to battle back. Jake Lucchini picked up the puck on the sidewall, faked a shot and wrapped it around the net and in for his team-leading seventh goal of the season with 3:09 left in the first period.

Justin Misiak was hit in the head early in the second period, resulting in a 5:00 power play for the Huskies. Alex Smith capitalized on a passing play from Gavin Gould and Seamus Donohue to tie it up. Smith's fourth of the season was the first of two points on the night.

LSSU (11-6-1) took its lead back 6:00 later when Max Humitz scored from Anthony Nellis at 9:23.

Bryan Basilico pushed it back to a two-goal game in favor of the Lakers at 16:12 of the second period on the power play. Brayden Gelsinger and Lukas Kaelble assisted.

Misiak drew another penalty on a rush to the net early in the third and again the Huskies responded. Trenton Bliss buried his fifth of the season, and fourth on the power play, to make it a 4-3 game with 17:00 to go. Donohue and Smith had the assists.

LSSU had a goal waved off with 14:30 to go in the third to keep it a one-goal margin.

Coach Shawhan pulled goaltender Robbie Beydoun for the extra attacker with 2:12 remaining and the two teams skating 4-on-4.

Diego Cuglietta buried his fourth goal of the tournament into the empty net for a 5-3 LSSU lead with 70 seconds left.

Steven Ruggiero added another empty-netter with 52 seconds on the clock for the final tally.

LSSU outshot Tech 40-21. Beydoun finished with 34 saves. LSSU goaltender Nick Kossoff had 18 saves.

Cuglietta opened the game's scoring 10:34 into the game with Max Humitz assisting.

Hampus Erikkson made it 2-0 LSSU 62 seconds later. Pete Veillette assisted.

Tech was 2-for-5 on the power play and 3-for-4 on the penalty kill.

The two teams will meet again on February 15-16 with a WCHA series in the Soo at Taffy Abel Arena.

Tech is 10-8-2 overall and returns to conference play on Friday and Saturday at No. 8 Minnesota State for the first of two meetings between the two teams. The puck drops at 8:07 p.m. Eastern both nights at the Verizon Center.

GLI All-Tournament Team
• Goaltender: Nick Kossoff (Lake Superior State)
• Defenseman: Dennis Cesana (Michigan State)
• Defenseman: Collin Saccoman (Lake Superior State)
• Forward: Luke Morgan (Michigan)
• Forward: Jake Lucchini (Michigan Tech)
• Forward: Diego Cuglietta (Lake Superior State) – MVP