No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final - OT
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
Final
2 Northern Michigan
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
Final
5 Michigan Tech
3 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Fri Mar 09
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 11
Final - OT
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 3
Sat Mar 17
Final
2 Michigan Tech
0 at Northern Michigan
WCHA Championship Game
Fri Mar 23
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Notre Dame
@ Bridgeport, CT NCAA Tournament - East Region Semifinal
Fri Oct 12
Final
2 Minnesota Duluth
1 Michigan Tech
Hall of Fame Weekend
Sat Oct 13
Final
5 Minnesota Duluth
2 Michigan Tech
Hall of Fame Weekend
Fri Oct 26
Final
6 Michigan Tech
2 at Wisconsin
Sat Oct 27
Final
2 Michigan Tech
6 at Wisconsin
Fri Nov 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Alabama Huntsville
Sat Nov 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
1 at Alabama Huntsville
Fri Nov 09
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Nov 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Nov 16
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Clarkson
Sat Nov 17
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Clarkson
Fri Nov 30
Final - OT
3 Bemidji State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 01
Final
2 Bemidji State
7 Michigan Tech
Fri Dec 07
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Northern Michigan
Sat Dec 08
Final
1 Northern Michigan
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Dec 14
Final
1 Alabama Huntsville
0 Michigan Tech
Vollwerth's Family Night
Sat Dec 15
Final - OT
1 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 30
Final Shootout - Home
2 Michigan
2 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit Michigan Great Lakes Invitational
Mon Dec 31
Final
6 Lake Superior State
3 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit Michigan Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Jan 04
Final
1 Michigan Tech
4 at Minnesota State
Sat Jan 05
Final
2 Michigan Tech
4 at Minnesota State
Fri Jan 11
Final
0 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
3 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Jan 18
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Sat Jan 19
8:37 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Fri Jan 25
11:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Jan 26
11:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Feb 08
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 09
5:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 15
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Check.Slash.Survive
Fri Feb 22
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 23
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Skate with the Huskies
Fri Mar 01
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Senior Night
Sat Mar 02
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies fall 3-2 Saturday to No. 10 Bowling Green

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech hockey team split with No. 10 Bowling Green after a 3-2 loss Saturday (Jan. 12) at the John MacInnes Student Ice Arena. The Huskies battled back from a 2-0 deficit, but the Falcons scored with 8:34 remaining to retake the lead.

"We didn't come out with the intensity to realize how important that first period of a Saturday night game is," Tech coach Joe Shawhan said. "They came out tougher than we did through the first two periods. I did like the way we came out and competed in the third to give ourselves a chance."

Down 2-0 entering the third period, the Huskies tied it up in a 17-second span. Tyler Rockwell made it a one-goal game when he collected the puck up near the blue line and took a long shot through traffic into the back of the net. The unassisted tally was his second of the season at 7:55.

Thomas Beretta finished off a breakout at the 8:12 mark for the equalizer. Seamus Donohue started with the puck in the defensive zone and fed Greyson Reitmeier at center ice. Beretta scored his third of the season after catching a drop pass and going high glove on the goaltender.

BGSU (15-5-3, 10-4-2-2 WCHA) took its lead back 3:14 later with a power play goal by Alex Barber. Like all three Falcon goals, Robbie Beydoun battled traffic in front of him and had the puck deflected in.

"I've never seen a game like that where they never shot one puck into our net," Shawhan added. "They fought for ice position, and we didn't get a block or box out. I give them credit. It was a good lesson on grit and determination."

"You hate to battle all the way back and then give up that goal on a penalty kill," Co-captain Dylan Steman said. "We've worked so hard on the penalty kill, and it's been improving."

The Huskies (11-11-2, 10-5-1-1 WCHA) outshot the Falcons 36-30 in the game with a commanding 19-8 advantage in the third period. Beydoun finished with 27 saves, while Eric Dop had 34 for the visitors.

The Falcons scored twice in the first period. John Schilling gave them the lead 6:55 after puck drop with a deflection off a shot by Chris Pohlkamp.

Barber made it 2-0 9:00 later with his first of the game. A shot by Cameron Wright hit Barber's leg and into the net. Will Cullen added the secondary assist.

Colin Swoyer almost tied it up in the first period when he had a long shot nail the crossbar. Jake Lucchini had a quick breakaway in the third period turned aside but he drew a power play.

The Huskies went 0-for-4 on the man advantage and 3-for-4 on the penalty kill. They had a great chance on a 3-on-1 in the second period but a pass sailed away and Beydoun had to stand tall on a breakaway on the ensuing drive.

Saturday was Econo Kids Day at Michigan Tech as the women's and men's basketball teams hosted Lake Superior State in the afternoon before the hockey game. Econo Foods purchased 500 tickets for youth 14 and under to attend all three events.

Tech hits the road for the next two weekends, beginning at Bemidji State (Jan. 18-19). Friday's game will be played outdoors as part of the annual Hockey Day in Minnesota celebration. Saturday's contest will be back in the Sanford Center.