No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 vs. Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final - OT
3 Lake Superior State
3 vs. Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 vs. Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
Final
2 Northern Michigan
3 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
Final
5 Michigan Tech
3 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Fri Mar 09
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 11
Final - OT
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 3
Sat Mar 17
Final
2 Michigan Tech
0 at Northern Michigan
WCHA Championship Game
Fri Mar 23
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Notre Dame
@ Bridgeport, CT NCAA Tournament - East Region Semifinal
Fri Oct 12
Final
2 Minnesota Duluth
1 vs. Michigan Tech
Hall of Fame Weekend
Sat Oct 13
Final
5 Minnesota Duluth
2 vs. Michigan Tech
Hall of Fame Weekend
Fri Oct 26
Final
6 Michigan Tech
2 at Wisconsin
Sat Oct 27
Final
2 Michigan Tech
6 at Wisconsin
Fri Nov 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Alabama Huntsville
Sat Nov 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
1 at Alabama Huntsville
Fri Nov 09
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Nov 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Nov 16
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Clarkson
Sat Nov 17
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Clarkson
Fri Nov 23
Final
1 Alaska
2 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 24
Final
2 Alaska
7 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 30
Final - OT
3 Bemidji State
3 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 01
Final
2 Bemidji State
7 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Dec 07
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Northern Michigan
Sat Dec 08
Final
1 Northern Michigan
3 vs. Michigan Tech
Fri Dec 14
Final
1 Alabama Huntsville
0 vs. Michigan Tech
Vollwerth's Family Night
Sat Dec 15
Final - OT
1 Alabama Huntsville
2 vs. Michigan Tech
Sun Dec 30
Final Shootout - Home
2 Michigan
2 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit Michigan Great Lakes Invitational
Mon Dec 31
Final
6 Lake Superior State
3 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit Michigan Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Jan 04
Final
1 Michigan Tech
4 at Minnesota State
Sat Jan 05
Final
2 Michigan Tech
4 at Minnesota State
Fri Jan 11
Final
0 Bowling Green
2 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
Final
3 Bowling Green
2 vs. Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Jan 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Bemidji State
@ Bemidji, Minn.
Sat Jan 19
Final
0 Michigan Tech
3 at Bemidji State
Fri Jan 25
Final
3 Michigan Tech
0 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Jan 26
Final - OT
0 Michigan Tech
0 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Feb 08
Final - OT
1 Minnesota State
1 vs. Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 09
Final - OT
3 Minnesota State
2 vs. Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 15
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Check.Slash.Survive
Fri Feb 22
Final
2 Alaska Anchorage
3 vs. Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 23
Final
1 Alaska Anchorage
3 vs. Michigan Tech
Skate with the Huskies
Fri Mar 01
Final
4 Northern Michigan
2 vs. Michigan Tech
Senior Night
Sat Mar 02
Final
0 Michigan Tech
3 at Northern Michigan
Fri Mar 08
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Bowling Green
WCHA First Round Playoffs
Sat Mar 09
Final
2 Michigan Tech
6 at Bowling Green
WCHA First Round Playoffs
View Full Schedule

Huskies win 3-1 Saturday for sweep of Seawolves

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech hockey team picked up its fourth WCHA sweep of the season after a 3-1 victory over Alaska Anchorage Saturday (Feb. 23) at the MacInnes Student Ice Arena. Alec Broetzman had a goal and an assist, while Brian Halonen and Justin Misiak also scored for the Huskies.

"It's good for the guys' confidence," Tech coach Joe Shawhan said. "I'm always looking for a really good quality of play, and I thought we had five good periods of hockey this weekend and grew as the game went on tonight. We got contributions from everyone that stepped on the ice tonight.

"The last month has been outstanding. The results haven't shown but we played well at Lake State last weekend and against Minnesota State during Winter Carnival. We've been playing good hockey."

The Huskies (14-16-4, 13-10-3-1 WCHA) jumped out to a 3-0 lead Saturday. Brian Halonen scored 12:58 into the game for the lead when he ripped in his team-leading 12th of the season and second on the weekend. Jake Jackson carried it into the zone and fed it over to Trenton Bliss. Halonen caught a drop pass and went in alone on goaltender Kris Carlson. His 12 goals are tied for third in the country amongst rookies.

Alec Broetzman put Tech up 2-0 with a power-play goal 8:49 into the second. He blasted in a one-timer from the top of the circle with Colin Swoyer and Keegan Ford adding the assists. It was Broetzman's sixth of the season and third on the man advantage.

"It was just nice to finally see one go in," Broetzman said. "Everyone around me was making plays, and it was nice to finish one off. It was a play we've been working on, and I knew the pass was coming."

Justin Misiak made it a three-goal lead 2:10 into the third, scoring his sixth of the season. He whacked in a loose puck at the side of the net after his first two shots were saved. Broetzman added the assist for his fourth multi-point game of the season.

UAA (3-26-3, 2-21-3-2 WCHA) got a 5-on-3 power play with 5:38 remaining in the game and then pulled the goaltender. Moments after the first power play expired the Seawolves got on the board when Jeremiah Luedtke jammed in a rebound at the side of the net. Assists went to Nicolas Erb-Ekholm and Tomi Hiekkavirta.

The Huskies didn't allow a shot on goal from that point on and outshot UAA 42-22 in the game. Matt Jurusik made 21 saves for his ninth win of the season. Carlson stopped 39 shots for the visitors.

"I think I'm just playing calm, relaxed, and consistent and competing on shots," Jurusik said. "I'm not scrambling in net. I'm seeing the puck pretty well, and that's a credit to the guys in practice helping me prepare."

Michigan Tech Athletics presented the Portage Health Foundation a check for $10,417.65 for its Flood With Love relief effort. The donation was raised from the various Copper Country Strong events the Huskies held throughout the year.

Saturday's game was also the annual Junior Hockey Night and Skate With The Huskies.

Tech will wrap up the regular season next weekend against Northern Michigan. The two teams will meet Friday in Houghton and Saturday in Marquette. The puck drops at 7:07 p.m. each night. Friday will be Senior Night at the MacInnes Student Ice Arena. Keegan Ford, Jake Jackson, Devin Kero, Jake Lucchini, and Dylan Steman will be honored on the ice after the game.