Sat Mar 10
Final
1 Michigan Tech
8 vs. Belmont Abbey
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Tue Mar 13
Final
5 West Liberty
4 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Wed Mar 14
Final
7 Kutztown
2 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Thu Mar 15
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 vs. Charleston (W.V.)
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Fri Mar 23
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Grand Valley State
Sat Mar 24
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Ferris State
Sun Mar 25
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Northwood
Sat Mar 31
Final
7 Lake Superior State
2 Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 07
Final
5 Purdue Northwest
4 Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 08
Final
9 Davenport
0 Michigan Tech
Fri Apr 13
Final
1 Michigan Tech
8 at Tiffin
Sat Apr 14
Final
0 Michigan Tech
9 at Wayne State
Sat Feb 23
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Hillsdale
Sun Feb 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Tiffin
@ Midland, Mich. Midland Tennis Center
Sun Mar 03
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Wis.-Green Bay
Fri Mar 08
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C. (March 8-16)
Fri Mar 22
TBA
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Mar 23
10:00 AM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sun Mar 24
TBA
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Mar 30
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Apr 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sun Apr 07
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Fri Apr 12
10:00 AM
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 13
10:00 AM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Fri Apr 19
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
Sat Apr 20
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
Sun Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ TBA
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Drop GLIAC Match at Tiffin

Huskies Drop GLIAC Match at Tiffin

TIFFIN, Ohio – The Michigan Tech men's tennis team fell in a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference match at Tiffin Friday afternoon 8-1. The contest was the first of two GLIAC matchups this weekend for the Huskies.

Michigan Tech (0-11, 0-7 GLIAC) battled hard through doubles, but Tiffin (10-12, 2-5 GLIAC) was able to secure all three points to open the match. Mario Neto and Ignacio Carbajosa were the No. 1 team in the lineup for the Huskies Friday and kept pace with Luis Ludena and Elio Lezama Perez until the end. The Dragons duo pulled away late for an 8-4 win in that spot in the lineup before claiming points in No.2 and No. 3 doubles with identical scores of 8-2.

The majority of the singles contests were tightly contested with Tech's Nico Caviglia challenging Santiago de la Rosa in the No. 2 spot. Caviglia gave de la Rosa all he could handle in a 7-5, 6-3 loss. Juan Felipe Chica competed hard in the No. 5 singles position against Tom Arias before falling 6-3, 6-3. Simon Xiong notched the point for the Huskies in No.4 singles when he jumped ahead 3-1 in the first set against Toby Cutting. Cutting had to retire with Xiong in front.

The Huskies will be back in action on Saturday when they close the regular season at Wayne State. The first serve is slated for 2 p.m.

Tiffin University 8, Michigan Tech 1
Apr 13, 2018 at Tiffin, Ohio

Singles competition
1. Luis Ludena (TU) def. Mario Neto (MTUM), by default
2. Santiago de la Rosa (TU) def. Nico Caviglia (MTUM) 7-5, 6-3
3. Nikita Parfenov (TU) def. Ignacio Carbajosa (MTUM) 6-2, 6-2
4. Simon Xiong (MTUM) def. Toby Cutting (TU) 3-1, retired
5. Tom Arias (TU) def. Juan Felipe Chica (MTUM) 6-3, 6-3
6. Austin Mohamedali (TU) def. Illiya Chibirev (MTUM) 6-1, 6-2

Doubles competition
1. Luis Ludena/Elio Lezama Perez (TU) def. Mario Neto/Ignacio Carbajosa (MTUM) 8-4
2. Nikita Parfenov/Sorin Navrotchi (TU) def. Juan Felipe Chica/Nico Caviglia (MTUM) 8-2
3. Hugo Chatras/Austin Mohamedali (TU) def. Illiya Chibirev/Simon Xiong (MTUM) 8-2

Match Notes
Michigan Tech 0-11, 0-7 GLIAC
Tiffin University 10-12, 2-5 GLIAC