No Event
No Event
Sat Dec 08
Noon (W) / 1:00 pm (M)
at NMU Open - Ishpeming, MI
Sun Dec 09
Noon (M) / 1:00 pm (W)
at NMU Open - Ishpeming, MI
Sat Dec 15
9:30 am (M) / 11:00 am (W)
MTU CXC Cup - Houghton Trails
CL 5/10K IND
Sun Dec 16
9:00 am (W) / 10:00 am (M)
MTU CXC Cup - Houghton Trails
SK 10/10K MS
Thu Jan 03
at US Cross Country Championships - Craftsbury, VT
Classic 10/15K IND
Sat Jan 05
at US Cross Country Championships - Craftsbury, VT
Classic sprint
Sun Jan 06
at US Cross Country Championships - Craftsbury, VT
SK 5/10/20/30K MS
Tue Jan 08
at US Cross Country Championships - Craftsbury, VT
SK Sprint
Sat Jan 26
at UW-Green Bay Invitational - Rhinelander, WI
SK 5/10K IND
Sun Jan 27
at UW-Green Bay Invitational - Rhinelander, WI
CL 15/20K MS
Sat Feb 02
at NMU Invitational - Ishpeming, MI
SK 5/10 IND
Sun Feb 03
at NMU Invitational - Ishpeming, MI
CL 15/20K MS
Sat Feb 16
at CCSA Conference Championships - Minneapolis, MN
CL 15/20K MS
Sun Feb 17
at CCSA Conference Championships - Minneapolis, MN
SK 5/10K IND
Sat Feb 23
NCAA Central Region Championships - Houghton, MI
SK 5/10K IND
Sun Feb 24
NCAA Central Region Championships - Houghton, MI
CL 15/20K MS
Wed Mar 06
at NCAA Championships - Stowe, VT
SK 5/10K IND
Fri Mar 08
at NCAA Championships - Stowe, VT
CL 15/20K MS
View Full Schedule

Michigan Tech Nordic Skiing Set for NCAA Skiing Championships

Michigan Tech Nordic Skiing Set for NCAA Skiing Championships

2019 NCAA Championships Page

STOWE, Vt. – The Michigan Tech Nordic Ski team is back at the NCAA Skiing Championships, this time competing in Stowe, Vt. Hosted by the University of Vermont, the Huskies will compete in the Freestyle on Wednesday (Mar. 6) and in the Classic on Friday (Mar. 8).

Four Huskies will be competing in the NCAA Championships, two men and two women. On the men's side, Patrick Acton and Kristoffer Vollset will be representing Michigan Tech. The sophomore Acton was a First Team All-CCSA selection after finishing fifth in total points from regular season races and finished in the top five on both days of the 2019 NCAA Central Region skiing championships. For Vollset, the freshman finished first in the 20k Classic and was Second Team All-CCSA for finished with the sixth-most points.

Amanda Kautzer and Sarah Goble will be suiting up for the Black and Gold in the women's competition. They both finished inside the top five for the third and fifth-most points in regular season races, respectively, for the Huskies. Kautzer won the 15k Classic and placed fourth in the 5k Freestyle. Meanwhile, Goble finished third in both the 5k Freestyle and the 15k Classic. The two represented MTU at last year's NCAA Championships in Colorado, and both finished inside the top 40.

The freestyle races will be held on Wednesday from the Trapp Family Lodge. The men will be skiing first in the 10k format at 10 a.m., followed by the women at noon in the 5k. On Friday, it will be the women who go first as they will race the 15k classic at 10 a.m., with the men's 20k classic beginning at noon.

Michigan Tech finished second in the combined standings of both the CCSA Conference Championships as well as the NCAA Central Region Skiing Championships. The Huskies also placed six skiers on the All-CCSA teams and 13 skiers earned All-Region honors for finishing inside the top 10.

Click here for the live video stream of Wednesday's freestyle races, and click here for the live video stream of Friday's classic races. For the complete race schedule, click the link at the top of the page.